Elsies River Northlink Cricket Club crowned WPCA Club of the Year

Elsies River Northlink Cricket ClubRhoda receives the award from WPCA president Beresford Williams.

Elsies River Northlink Cricket Club were named Club of the Year at Monday, 30 May 2016’s annual Western Province Cricket Association awards ceremony.

They beat fellow nominees Bergvliet Cricket Club, Hottentots Holland Cricket Club, Kuils River Cricket Club and Ottoman Cricket Club to the prestigious accolade.

“The award is given out based on a points ratio, which takes into account the clubs’ administrative duties, their performances on the field and disciplinary hearings. All these are considered when coming up with the finalists and winner,” said WPCA amateur cricket manager Clinton du Preez.

Elsies River Northlink Cricket Club gathered 191 points – the most by any club over the past five seasons.

“This is very overwhelming. We didn’t expect the award – and I’m very glad the hard work put in on and off the field has paid off. We have a nine-person executive committee who put in plenty of work behind the scenes. It’s difficult because they are not paid for what they do. It’s all on a volunteer basis. I’m grateful for each one of them,” club chairman Mervyn Rhoda told Club Cricket SA.

Elsies River Northlink CC will compete in the first division C next season, after winning the first division D this year.

Ottoman Cricket Club and Claremont Cricket Club secured the Most Sporting Team of the Year and Fielding Team of the Year accolades, respectively, while Victoria Cricket Club’s Robert van der Ross was awarded the Fair Play of the Year trophy.

2015-16 WPCA awards ceremony gallery.