Explainer: SA T20 League NOT for uncontracted club cricketers

Cricket South Africa have invited players to register for participation in the new SA T20 League, which was announced in partnership with the SABC – rather than SuperSport – earlier this week.

Unlike next year’s inaugural¬†Cape Premier League or the existing DPL and LPL in Durban and Johannesburg, respectively, the SA T20 League is not open to club cricketers not contracted at senior provincial, franchise or national level.


Victoria Cricket Club’s Robert van der Ross, Bellville Cricket Club’s Lenert van Wyk and Green Point Cricket Club’s Zac Elkin are excellent cricketers across the Western Province Cricket Association premier league and first division A, but ARE NOT contracted to Western Province or the Cape Cobras – and therefore CANNOT feasibly apply to play in the SA T20 League.

Milnerton Cricket Club’s Matthew Kleinveldt, Tyberberg Cricket Club’s Carlos Koyana and United Cricket Club’s Qaasim Adams are superb cricketers across the WPCA premier league and first division A – and ARE contracted at senior provincial level. They, therefore, CAN apply to play in the SA T20 League.

There are several other relevant examples through the Free State Cricket Union, KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union, Eastern Province Cricket and Northerns Cricket Union club cricket, too.

This statement on Cricket South Africa’s website reveals the limitations:

“Registration is open to South African players that hold national playing contracts, franchise playing contracts and senior provincial contracts. Registration is open to international players that have played for a national team after 1 May 2017, or participated in international T20 leagues in the last season.

“This registration page is for individual players registering in their own capacity. Cricket South Africa will not accept registrations by representatives of players. All information supplied will be verified.”

The restrictions, too, are noted in these screenshots taken from the application process:

The SA T20 League will effectively replace the failed T20 Global League, which was postponed and later cancelled. It will be played in November and December 2018.