Five Western Province club cricketers in CPL player draft

George LindeFile image: George Linde.

Bellville Cricket Club’s Beuran Hendricks, Durbanville Cricket Club’s George Linde, Tyerberg Cricket Club’s Vernon Philander – and United Cricket Club pair Dane Paterson and Dane Piedt – have been registered for the 2017 Caribbean Premier League player draft.

Hendricks, Linde, Philander, Paterson and Piedt are among 16 South Africans listed for the draft, which will take place in Barbados on Friday, 10 March.

Philander played eight matches for the eventual champions, Jamaica Tallawahs, during the 2013 edition of the Caribbean Premier League.

“T20 is capturing the world of cricket by storm and, with the huge numbers of talented players from across the cricketing world eager to sign up to the biggest party in sport, I have no doubt that the 2017 season will be our best yet,” said the tournament’s Director of International Cricket, Tom Moody.

“In attracting the cream of international talent from a healthy blend of established and fast-developing nations, it extends the growing international appeal of the sport and of the CPL itself – and I have no doubt that we are going to see a hugely contested player draft.”

Pinetown Cricket Club’s Robbie Frylinck, who was afforded a base price of R588,000 at this year’s Indian Premier League player auction but failed to secure a contract, has also been registered for the CPL draft.