Former Proteas batsman’s son named England Under-19 vice-captain for Under-19 World Cup in South Africa

Luc Benkenstein cricketLuc Benkenstein.

All-rounder Luc Benkenstein has been appointed England Under-19 captain ahead of 2024’s Under-19 World Cup.

He is the son of former Proteas batsman Dale Benkenstein, who played 23 ODIs from 1998 to 2002.

Benkenstein senior later forged a successful playing career for Durham before moving into coaching with Hampshire, Gloucestershire, Lancashire and elsewhere. Benkenstein junior plays for Essex.

SUBSCRIBE to Club Cricket SA’s YouTube channel for more live streaming

England’s Under-19 World Cup squad

  1. Ben McKinney (captain)
  2. Luc Benkenstein (vice-captain)
  3. Farhan Ahmed
  4. Tazeem Ali
  5. Charlie Allison
  6. Charlie Barnard
  7. Jack Carney
  8. Jaydn Denly
  9. Eddie Jack
  10. Dominic Kelly
  11. Sebastian Morgan
  12. Haydon Mustard
  13. Hamza Shaikh
  14. Noah Thain
  15. Theo Wylie

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

ICC move Under-19 World Cup to South Africa

The International Cricket Council recently┬árelocated next year’s Under-19 World Cup to South Africa.

Sri Lanka were scheduled to host the tournament. The ICC, however, have since provisionally suspended Sri Lanka Cricket.

“The Under-19 World Cup in January 2024 will be held in South Africa after the board that met confirmed Sri Lanka would be replaced as hosts,” read a statement from the ICC.

“Sri Lanka Cricket was recently suspended by the ICC for breaching its obligations as a member, namely for failing to manage its affairs autonomously and without government interference.

“It was revealed after the board meeting that Sri Lanka can continue to compete internationally both in bilateral cricket and ICC events, however funding to SLC will be controlled by the ICC.”

The dates and venues for the tournament in South Africa have not been confirmed yet.

India are the reigning Under-19 World Cup champions. They are the most successful country in the history of the tournament with five titles. South Africa Under-19 won the title in 2014.

“The upcoming World Cup marks the 15th edition of the under-19 men’s event, following the last tournament in the West Indies in 2022, when India clinched the title for the fifth time,” added the ICC.

“A revised tournament format has been introduced which includes a new super six stage after the group stage to determine the semi-finalists.”

South Africa hosted the inaugural Women’s Under-19 World Cup in 2023.

MORE Under-19 World Cup cricket news