Rusty Theron, Calvin Savage join Texas Super Kings in Major League Cricket, USA

Rusty TheronRusty Theron (left).

Texas Super Kings drafted former Proteas seamer Rusty Theron and former Cape Cobras all-rounder Calvin Savage for the inaugural season of Major League Cricket on Monday.

Theron played four ODIs and nine T20Is for South Africa before relocating to the United States of America. He has since been capped at international level multiple times by the USA.

“I am very happy and privileged to join Texas. Through all my life, every ball I have bowled, I have given 100 percent. It will be no different this time and I am looking forward to the opportunity,” said Theron.

Savage left the Dolphins for the Cobras in South Africa – and later moved to the USA. He has been playing for the Chicago Tigers in the Minor League Cricket Championship.

This is incredible and I am very excited. I am looking forward to being with the team and doing what I can for the state of Texas,” said Savage.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Texas Super Kings also drafted former Dolphins batsman Cody Chetty, who has been playing for the Hollywood Master Blasters in Minor League Cricket.

The inaugural edition of Major League Cricket will start on 13 July 2023. It will feature six teams:

  1. Seattle Orcas
  2. MI New York
  3. Washington Freedom
  4. San Francisco Unicorns
  5. Los Angeles Knight Riders
  6. Texas Super Kings

All 19 matches, including 30 July’s final, will be played at the new Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas.

The tournament will feature several international players, including Australian trio Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis and Mitchell Marsh, former New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson, England’s Liam Plunkett, Sri Lanka’s Shehan Jayasuriya and more.

South Africans signed for 2023 Major League Cricket

  • Quinton de Kock (Seattle Orcas)
  • Matthew Tromp (Seattle Orcas)
  • Shadley van Schalkwyk (Los Angeles Knight Riders)
  • Corne Dry (Los Angeles Knight Riders)
  • Justin Dill (Washington Freedom)
  • Obus Pienaar (Washington Freedom)
  • Dane Piedt (Washington Freedom)
  • Anrich Nortje (Washington Freedom)
  • Andries Gous (Washington Freedom)
  • Carmi le Roux (San Francisco Unicorns)
  • David White (San Francisco Unicorns)
  • Calvin Savage (Texas Super Kings)
  • Cody Chetty (Texas Super Kings)
  • Rusty Theron (Texas Super Kings)

More latest Major League Cricket news