Alan Dawson, Kyle Smit among CSA’s Veterans Cricketer of the Year nominees

Kyle Smit cricketKyle Smit.

Cricket South Africa have introduced a Veterans Cricketer of the Year category ahead of next month’s annual awards ceremony.

South Africa Over-60’s Trevor Poole, South Africa Over-50’s Alan Dawson and South Africa Over-40’s Kyle Smit are 2023’s nominees for the Veterans Cricketer of the Year.

Poole played for South Africa during last year’s Over-60 World Cup in Queensland, Australia.

Former Proteas seamer Dawson was key to South Africa’s campaign to this year’s Over-50 World Cup campaign in Cape Town and surrounds. South Africa lost to England in the final at Newlands.

Former Dolphins batsman Smit was among the top run-scorers during last month’s inter-provincial tournament in Johannesburg. He played for East Rand Over-40, who lost the final to Western Province Over-40, and has since been named in the South Africa Over-40 squad.

Alan Dawson

Alan Dawson.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

CSA’s Veterans Cricket of the Year nominees

  1. Trevor Poole
  2. Alan Dawson
  3. Kyle Smit

Former Proteas batsman Ashwell Prince, who is South Africa Over-40’s captain, is among the judges for the CSA awards.

“It is an absolute honour to congratulate all the nominees for the 2022-23 CSA awards,” said CSA chief Executive Officer Pholetsi Moseki.

“Through these prestigious awards, CSA wishes to celebrate every single individual who has inspired the next generation through their efforts on and off the field, while also upholding CSA’s vision and mission.”

The CSA awards ceremony will happen on 7 July 2023.

MORE veterans cricket news