Free State retain Knights name for new SA domestic structure

File image.

Free State will retain the name, the Knights, as South African domestic cricket returns to provincial competition later this year.

Free State have been placed in division one of the country’s new domestic structure, after franchise cricket was dissolved.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. Comments disabled. No spam.

“Free State Cricket is extremely excited with the transition to the new orange machine era, since their inclusion as one of the division one teams as part of Cricket South Africa’s domestic restructuring model,” read a brief statement from the Free State Cricket Union.

“FSCU, therefore, is proud to announce that their division one professional side will remain as the Knights cricket team.”

Free State squad for 2021-22 season

  • Mbulelo Budaza
  • Gerald Coetzee
  • Patrick Kruger
  • Wandile Makwetu
  • Migael Pretorius
  • Jacques Snyman
  • Pite van Biljon
  • Raynard van Tonder
  • Farhaan Behardien
  • Patrick Botha
  • Matthew Kleinveldt
  • Gregory Mohlokwana
  • Mangaliso Mosehle
  • Alfred Mothoa
  • Dilivio Ridgaard
  • Nealan van Heerden

Also read