Fresh start for Diego Rosier at Eastern Province

File image: Diego Rosier.

Batsman Diego Rosier has been named in Eastern Province’s squad for South Africa’s 2021-22 domestic season.

Rosier previously represented Northern Cape and Northerns – and made a few franchise appearances for the Titans.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. Comments disabled. No spam.

The Eastern Province squad also includes former Cape Cobras seamers Akhona Mnyaka and Dane Paterson.

“Our focus has been on recruiting young players and that is what we have done,” said acting Eastern Province chief executive officer Shafiek Abrahams.

“We have also seen players come back home to the Eastern Cape this time, so that is encouraging.

“We are all about opportunities and that’s what we’ll be hoping to offer the players that have been contracted. They will mix in well with the experience we have here.”

Eastern Province have been placed among the top tier of the country’s new domestic structure, which will return to provincial rather than franchise competition later this year.

Eastern Province squad for 2021-22 season

  • Matthew Breetzke
  • Wihan Lubbe
  • Sinethemba Qeshile
  • Jon-Jon Smuts
  • Eddie Moore
  • Marco Jansen
  • Glenton Stuurman
  • Rudi Second
  • Akhona Mnyaka
  • Lesiba Ngoepe
  • Diego Rosier
  • Tristan Stubbs
  • Dane Paterson
  • Kabelo Sekhukhune
  • Mthiwekhaya Nabe
  • Tsepo Ndwandwa
  • Anrich Nortje (national contract)

Also read