Gallery: 2019 Varsity Cricket tournament stars to watch – and other information

The Varsity Cricket tournament has started in Potchefstroom. The eight-team competition will span six days.

Eight stars to watch

Central University of Technology’s Franklin Damons

University of Cape Town’s Bonga Yelani

University of the Western Cape’s Karl Vermeulen¬†

North-West University’s (Pukke) Khanya Cotani¬†

Stellenbosch University’s (Maties) Fritz de Beer

University of Johannesburg’s Kamogelo Selane

University of Pretoria’s (Tuks) Rubin Hermann

Nelson Mandela University’s (Madibaz) Tristan Stubbs

More about the 2019 Varsity Cricket tournament

Former New Zealand wicketkeeper-batsman Kruger van Wyk is Tuks’ coach. The South African-born van Wyk played nine Tests for the Black Caps in 2012.

The University of Cape Town Cricket Club will play in the 2019-20 Western Province Cricket Association premier league, after a title-winning 2018-19 first division A campaign.

The tournament will feature several players capped at franchise level, including the Lions’ Delano Potgieter and Titans’ Rubin Hermann. Potgieter play for the University of Johannesburg and University of Pretoria, respectively.

Former franchise cricketers Ryan Bailey, Dumisa Makalima and Eugene Moleon are the head coaches of Stellenbosch University, University of Johannesburg and University of Cape Town, respectively. Moleon and Makalima played for the Lions. Bailey represented the Warriors.

Also read