ICC announce groups for World Cup Qualifier

Sri LankaWest Indies and Sri Lanka.

The West Indies and Sri Lanka have been placed in opposing groups for mid-June to early July 2023’s World Cup Qualifier.

The teams who finish in first and second position in the 10-team tournament, which will be played in Zimbabwe from 18 June to 9 July, will advance to the World Cup in India later this year.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

2023 World Cup Qualifier groups

Group A

  1. West Indies
  2. Zimbabwe
  3. Netherlands
  4. Nepal
  5. United States of America

Group B

  1. Sri Lanka
  2. Ireland
  3. Scotland
  4. Oman
  5. United Arab Emirates

Two of the 10 will join the following countries in the 2023 World Cup, which is scheduled to start on 5 October:

  1. South Africa
  2. Afghanistan
  3. Australia
  4. Bangladesh
  5. England
  6. New Zealand
  7. Pakistan
  8. India

What the International Cricket Council said

“The countdown to the Cricket World Cup 2023 is entering the final stages and this event presents an incredible opportunity for teams to earn a place in the pinnacle event of one day cricket,” said ICC chief executive officer Geoff Allardice.

“The stakes don’t get any bigger in what will be a very competitive event enjoyed by fans looking to see who will join the eight teams that have already booked their tickets to India.”

“With two former World Cup champions among the contenders as well as emerging cricket nations who are aiming to qualify for the first time, this unique event, featuring teams from Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe will be a showcase of the global game.”

MORE Cricket World Cup news