T20 Community Cup: Irene Villagers Cricket Club include Junior Dala

Junior DalaJunior Dala.

Proteas fast bowler Junior Dala has been named in Irene Villagers Cricket Club’s squad for this week’s T20 Community Cup in Pretoria.

Dala was capped 10 times at T20I level and twice in ODI cricket between 2018 and 2021.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

Old Edwardians Cricket Club, Clares Cricket Club, Burma Lads Cricket Club, Irene Villagers Cricket Club, Western Province Cricket Club and the Rural Cricket South Africa XI will contest the tournament from 22 to 24 April 2022.

Four venues will host 15 fixtures across three days. The venues are Sinovich Park, Mandela Oval, Laudium Oval and Tshwane University of Technology Oval.

“Club cricket serves to create an environment that attracts and retains individuals who want to participate in the game of cricket within our communities,” said Cricket South Africa senior cricket manager Johan Weyers.

“The CSA T20 Community Cup is mainly for community-based clubs and aims to provide a higher level of playing exposure to premier league clubs.

“This competition is in line with CSA’s commitment to maximise player opportunities, build character and develop skills on a competitive stage for club cricketers.”

? Download 2022 T20 Community Cup fixtures

2022 T20 Community Cup squads

Irene Villagers CC (Northerns)

  • Zendon Verster
  • Robert Farina
  • Junior Dala
  • Lance Trueman
  • Tema Mpete
  • Wayde Damon
  • Sibusiso Maseko
  • Bradley Joynt
  • Dian Liebenberg
  • Jacques Porter
  • Zakir Zafdar
  • Ryan Herselman
  • Jaco Mostert
  • Byron Fraser (coach)
  • Douglas Yates (manager)

Old Edwardians Cricket Club (Gauteng)

  • Callum Broodryk
  • Cameron Brunner
  • Andile Gladile
  • Gareth Harte
  • Calvin Johnson
  • Joshua Lang
  • Obakeng Maila
  • Reade Metzer
  • Lhaundre Pretorius
  • Muzzi Sheik
  • Luxolo Tsewu
  • Mitchell van Buuren
  • Murray Workman
  • Brandon Buckley (coach)
  • Arnold Ndindwa (manager)

Clares Cricket Club (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal)

  • Tylor Trenoweth
  • John Riekert
  • Mike Alexander
  • Bruce Kerr
  • Jason Wagner
  • Aatish Maharaj
  • Abdul Haq Razak
  • Jesse Smit
  • Thando Ntini
  • Kerwin Mungroo
  • Vyash Gobind
  • Semel Pillay
  • Jawaad Aziz
  • Fabian Lazarus (coach)
  • Bharath Maharaj (manager)

Burma Lads Cricket Club (Northern Cape)

  • Aidan Brooker
  • Nathan Plaatjies
  • Aubrey Swanepoel
  • Reuben Visagie
  • Chesley Barnes
  • Tristan Traugott
  • Mi-Chaelle Robinson
  • Wiehan du Plessis
  • Zandre Swartz
  • Richard Baardt
  • Ethene Kruger
  • Werner Schimper
  • Naziel Adams
  • Heinrich Stride (coach)
  • Donavan Pillay (manager)

Western Province Cricket Club (Western Province)

  • Derek Mitchell
  • James Crowson
  • Givon Christian
  • Nic Barlow
  • Daniel Da Costa
  • Junaid Allie
  • Justin Behrens
  • Alex Draai
  • Kyle Simmonds
  • Luke Petersen
  • Siya Plaatjie
  • Bailey Aarons
  • Shawn Dyson
  • Laurie Ward (coach)
  • Curtis Fourie (manager)

Rural Cricket South Africa XI

  • Nathan Engelbrecht
  • Grant Essau
  • Levin Muller
  • Loyiso Mzaso
  • Sias Willemse
  • Andrew Louw
  • Francois van Rooyen
  • Aviwe Tisane
  • Thandeni Majeba
  • Sivedh Ramprith
  • Kevin Pretorius
  • Basil George junior
  • Ridewan Mlongo
  • Ettienne Bezuidenhout
  • Lwane Landu (coach)
  • Christo Gous (manager)

Previous T20 Community Cup champions

Gauteng’s Delfos Cricket Club are the reigning T20 Community Cup champions. They won the 2018 tournament. The 2019 T20 Community Cup was completely washed out. It was not played in 2020 and 2021 amid the coronavirus pandemic.

More 2022 T20 Community Cup news