Jean du Plessis wins SWD Player of the Season award

File image: Jean du Plessis.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Jean du Plessis was named Player of the Season at the annual South Western Districts awards last week.

Spinner Jané Winster won the SWD Women’s Player of the Season award.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. Comments disabled. No spam.

“Du Plessis was SWD’s top batsmen in the CSA provincial program in both the three-day and one-day formats. In the three-day series, he was the wicketkeeper with the most dismissals overall and also represented the Cape Cobras in the One-Day Cup,” read a statement from South Western Districts Cricket.

Micaela Andrews and Winster were awarded the Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy for being elected for the SA Emerging Women’s team that toured Bangladesh.

File image: Jané Winster.

“Special merit awards were awarded to Kamvalethu Feni and Ayabonga Ngondo for their selection for the Cobras Cubs.”

“Umpires André Olivier and Lusuko Mralasi, who officiated in Cricket South Africa national tournaments, and Glenda Oliphant, who was elected to serve on the executive committee of SA Schools Cricket, were also given special merit awards.

SWD lifetime achievement awards

SWD Cricket also gave lifetime achievement awards to several former players and administrators.

  • Greg Morkel
  • Pieter Botha
  • Griffith Makok
  • Tommy Meintjies
  • Ronnie Isaacs
  • Les Jacobs
  • Willie Bezuidenhout
  • Ezzard Hufkie
  • Clive De Waal
  • Mervin Davids
  • Morgan van Wyk
  • Colin van Wyk
  • Mario Prins
  • Colin Myburgh
  • Ronald Fortuin
  • Mario Prins
  • Danny Cronje
  • Pieter Oelf
  • Stan Coleman
  • Iodien January
  • Robert Swigelaar
  • Franco Coerecius
  • Clive Brandt
  • Roy Smith
  • Chris Andries
  • Godfrey Malgas
  • Kearney Malgas
  • Winston Coerecius
  • Phillip Wagenaar
  • Anthony Coerecius
  • Emil le Roux
  • Patrick Witbooi
  • Jimmy Ellman
  • Eric Walbrugh
  • Neil Jeffery
  • Basil Deal
  • Werner Jeffery
  • Hilton Abrahams
  • Alfred du Plessis
  • Joey Daniels
  • Manie Olivier

Continuous service silver certificates were awarded to SWD chief executive officer Albertus Kennedy, clubs and facilities coordinator Pieter Stuurman human resources administrator Zenobia Nel.

Also read