Johannes Adams beats Shawn Christiansen to WPCA presidency

Johannes Adams WPCAJohannes Adams.

Tygerberg Cricket Club’s Johannes Adams was voted president at Wednesday’s Western Province Cricket Association annual general meeting.

Adams was previously WPCA vice-president. St Augustine Cricket Club’s Shawn Christiansen was also nominated for the WPCA presidency.

“I stand humbly before you and thank you for the confidence that you have placed in me to become the leader of the association,” said Adams.

“I am well aware I am taking over a very, very hot seat.¬†I feel confident in the trust you have placed in me.

“I am humbled because I stand on the shoulders of giants – giants like our previous presidents.”

Adams has succeeded outgoing president Ashraf Burns, who was appointed in October 2020.

“I thank Ashraf for his term. He took over the reigns during a period when the association really needed strong leadership. He has done an extremely good job,” added Adams.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Other new WPCA appointments

Durbanville Cricket Club’s De Vries Basson was named vice-president. His candidacy was unopposed.

New non-independent directors Jameel Magiet, Stanley Maqubela and Niyaaz Ebrahim were appointed at this week’s AGM, too.

Western Province Veterans Cricket Association chairman Nazeem White and Langa Cricket Club’s Talisemo Molefe were non-independent director candidates, but did not receive enough votes to be appointed ahead of Magiet, Maqubela or Ebrahim.

De Vries Basson WPCA

De Vries Basson.

MORE latest WP club cricket news