Knysna Falcons name captain and vice-captain

File image: Pieter Malan.

Durbanville Cricket Club’s Pieter Malan and Bellville Cricket Club’s Lenert van Wyk have been named captain and vice-captain, respectively, of the Knysna Falcons for the 2019 Cape Premier League.

Van Wyk will captain the Falcons when Malan is playing for the Cape Cobras in the CSA T20 Challenge, which coincides with April’s inaugural CPL.

The Falcons purchased Malan for 150,000 CPL dollars – the fictional currency spent at January’s player auction. Van Wyk was the joint fourth-highest purchase. Like Dromedaris Dragons recruit Josh Savage, van Wyk cost 600,000.

The Falcons also acquired, among others, Victoria Cricket Club’s Robert van der Ross, Rondebosch Cricket Club’s Grant Edmeades, Bellville Cricket Club’s Niel Botha, Cape Town Cricket Club’s Thando Ntini and Durbanville Cricket Club’s Byron Boshoff.

Their opening CPL fixture will be against the Cape Vikings at Newlands on Thursday, 4 April.