Kraaifontein Cricket Club likely to be added to WPCA first division A

Kraaifontein Cricket ClubFile image: Kraaifontein Cricket Club.

Raithby Cricket Club will likely be move removed from the Western Province Cricket Association second division for the 2017-18 season.

The WPCA local leagues committee has recommended Raithby Cricket Club participate in the Boland Cricket Board’s league competition, in a bid to comply with the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee’s geo-political boundaries.

Northdene Cricket Club, who are currently part of the Boland Cricket Board, will effectively replace Raithby Cricket Club in the WPCA second division, according to the recommendations.

Raithby Cricket Club finished in fourth position in the 2016-17 second division standings, after 14 wins in 22 matches. Belhar Cricket Club, Peninsula Cricket Club and Hanover Park Cricket Club ended first, second and third, respectively.

The proposal, too, has suggested Brackenfell Cricket Club and Kraaifontein Cricket Club, who are also currently part of the Boland Cricket Board, join the WPCA premier league and first division A, respectively.

The recommendations’ transformation objectives, meanwhile, have urged that the additions of Brackenfell CC and Kraaifontein CC be accompanied by a so-called ‘black African’ club, increasing the premier league and first division A to 12 teams each.