Kyle Verreynne added to South Africa A squad

File image: Kyle Verreynne.File image: Kyle Verreynne.

Cape Town Cricket Club wicketkeeper-batsman Kyle Verreynne has been added to the South Africa A squad for the tour of India later this year.

Verreynne has replaced the injured Gihahn Cloete in the limited-overs squad.

The 22-year-old Verreynne was the second-highest run-scorer in the 2018-19 One-Day Cup, with 453 in nine innings at an average of 64.71.

The Cape Cobras star also collected 583 runs in 15 innings at an average of 44.84 during the 2018-19 4-Day Franchise Series.

All-rounder Marco Jansen, meanwhile, has replaced the injured Wiaan Mulder for the limited-overs fixtures. Mulder will likely be fit to participate in the first-class matches.

Former Proteas assistant coach Malibongwe Maketa was named interim head coach of South Africa A earlier this month, after the outgoing Russell Domingo was hired by the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

India A and South Africa A will contest five limited-overs and two first-class fixtures between 29 August and 20 September.

Limited-overs squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Matthew Breetzke, Kyle Verreynne, Junior Dala, Theunis de Bruyn, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Janneman Malan, Marco Jansen, Anrich Nortje, Sinethemba Qeshile, Lutho Sipamla.

First-class squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Lungi Ngidi, George Linde, Pieter Malan, Eddie Moore, Senuran Muthusamy, Marco Jansen, Dane Piedt, Wiaan Mulder, Heinrich Klaasen, Lutho Sipamla, Khaya Zondo.

Also read