Latest Western Province squad represents club cricket well

File image: Thando Ntini.

Cape Town Cricket Club’s Thando Ntini will welcome a first-class debut, if named in Western Province’s XI for this week’s CSA 3-Day Provincial Cup fixture against Gauteng at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

Ntini is the only uncapped player in a 13-strong squad that also features recalls for Western Province Cricket Club fast bowler Michael Cohen and Milnerton Cricket Club batsman Matthew Kleinveldt.

Victoria Cricket Club wicketkeeper-batsman Isaac Dikgale, University of the Western Cape Cricket Club spinner Luke Philander and Bellville Cricket Club all-rounder Justin Dill have been retained.

“Isaac struck a good half-century against KwaZulu-Natal and a big score is just around the corner for him,” said Western Province head coach Paul Adams.

“Luke, as spinner, is a welcome addition to the squad and will strengthen the bowling attack with Renaldo Meyer, Dill and Ntini.”

Tygerberg Cricket Club wicketkeeper-batsman Carlos Koyana and Brackenfell Cricket Club left-arm seamer Mpilo Njoloza, who played in last month’s defeat to KwaZulu-Natal, have been omitted.

Squad: Michael Cohen (Western Province Cricket Club), Junaid Dawood (University of the Western Cape Cricket Club), Isaac Dikgale (Victoria Cricket Club), Justin Dill (Bellville Cricket Club), Matthew Kleinveldt (Milnerton Cricket Club), Andre Malan (Durbanville Cricket Club, captain), Bonga Makaka (Wynberg Boys’ High School), Renaldo Meyer (Victoria Cricket Club), Neo Mlumbi (Cape Town Cricket Club), Mihlali Mpongwana (University of the Western Cape Cricket Club), Jack Newby (University of Cape Town Cricket Club), Thando Ntini (Cape Town Cricket Club), Luke Philander (University of the Western Cape Cricket Club).