Malcolm Cloete, Kuda Samunderu win top Milnerton Cricket Club awards

Milnerton Cricket Club Cape TownMilnerton Cricket Club.

Seamer Malcolm Cloete and batsman Kuda Samunderu were among the top winners at Milnerton Cricket Clubs awards ceremony for the 2022-23 season recently.

Cloete and Samunderu were key to Milnerton Cricket Club’s title-winning 2022-23 Western Province Cricket Association first division A campaign. They have been promoted to the 2023-24 WPCA premier league.

Cloete was named Players’ Player of the Year – and was also awarded for taking the most wickets in the first XI.

Samunderu won the Complete Cricketer trophy. This was his first season at Milernton Cricket Club. “This award is given to a player who, although not a captain, put the team and club above their own personal motivation and, according to Milnerton Cricket Club:

  • goes above and beyond the normal functioning of the team;
  • Creates and adds spirit to the team cause; and
  • Reflects the core values of the club and game.”

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Milnerton Cricket Club Cape Town

Milnerton Cricket Club.

Selected Milnerton Cricket Club awards

First XI

  • Best batsman: Kyle Peters
  • Best bowler: Malcolm Cloete
  • Best fielder: Keegan Fortune

Second XI

  • Best batsman: Ben Beaver
  • Best bowler: Aidan Wessels and Sean Roach
  • Best fielder: Michael Gillespie

Third XI

  • Best batsman: Dylan Johnson
  • Best bowler: Kyle Hoefer
  • Best fielder: Keegan Gillespie


  • Most improved bowler: Ronan Bloor
  • Most improved batsman: Shaun de Decker
  • Most improved player: Keegan Fortune
  • Youth Player of the Year: Keegan Fortune
  • Best all-rounder: Craig Herman
  • Outstanding Clubman of the Year: Gert Badenhorst
  • Chairman’s award: Gavin Armstrong

Long service

  • Sias Bezuidenhout (20 years)
  • Leon Russouw (30 years)

MORE WP club cricket AWARDS news