Mangaliso Mosehle joins Free State

File image: Mangaliso Mosehle.

Former Proteas batsman Farhaan Behardien and wicketkeeper Mangaliso Mosehle are reportedly among the players contracted by Free State for South Africa’s 2021-22 domestic season.

Mosehle has represented the Titans, Lions, Dolphins and Cape Cobras. These four franchises, alongside the Knights and Warriors, no longer exist as South African domestic cricket reverts to provincial cricket.

Titans spinner Gregory Mahlokwana is also among Free State’s acquisitions, according to Netwerk24.

Free State in top tier of new structure

Free State are among the eight teams named in the top tier of the country’s new first-class cricket structure.

The rest of the eight-team top tier comprises Western Province, Eastern Province, North West, Boland, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal and Northerns.

The new system will start later this year and effectively replace franchise cricket, which was instated in 2003-04.

Cricket South Africa confirmed the new structure will exist for two seasons before a promotion and relegation system will commence.

Division 1

  1. Western Province
  2. Boland
  3. Eastern Province
  4. Free State
  5. Central Gauteng Lions
  6. KwaZulu-Natal Coastal
  7. North West
  8. Northerns

Division 2

  1. Mpumalanga
  2. KwaZulu-Natal Inland
  3. South Western Districts
  4. Northern Cape
  5. Easterns
  6. Border
  7. Limpopo

Also read