Matthew Tromp joins Quinton de Kock at Seattle Orcas in Major League Cricket, USA

Matthew TrompMatthew Tromp.

Gauteng’s Matthew Tromp and Proteas wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock have been drafted by the Seattle Orcas for the inaugural edition of Major League Cricket in the United States of America.

Tromp has been representing the Houston Hurricanes in the Minor League Cricket Championship in the USA.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

The inaugural edition of Major League Cricket will start on 13 July 2023. It will feature six teams:

  1. Seattle Orcas
  2. MI New York
  3. Washington Freedom
  4. San Francisco Unicorns
  5. Los Angeles Knight Riders
  6. Texas

All 19 matches, including 30 July’s final, will be played at the new Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas.

The tournament will feature several international players, including Australian trio Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis and Mitchell Marsh, former New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson, England’s Liam Plunkett, Sri Lanka’s Shehan Jayasuriya and more.

South Africans signed for 2023 Major League Cricket

  • Quinton de Kock (Seattle Orcas)
  • Matthew Tromp (Seattle Orcas)
  • Shadley van Schalkwyk (Los Angeles Knight Riders)
  • Corne Dry (Los Angeles Knight Riders)
  • Justin Dill (Washington Freedom)
  • Dane Piedt (Washington Freedom)
  • Obus Pienaar (Washington Freedom)
  • Anrich Nortje (Washington Freedom)
  • Andries Gous (Washington Freedom)
  • Carmi le Roux (San Francisco Unicorns)
  • David White (San Francisco Unicorns)
  • Calvin Savage (Texas Super Kings)
  • Cody Chetty (Texas Super Kings)
  • Rusty Theron (Texas Super Kings)

More latest Major League Cricket news