Mihlali Mpongwana on selection for Proteas: I didn’t think it would come this soon

Mihlali Mpongwana cricketMihlali Mpongwana.

Western Province all-rounder Mihlali Mpongwana has been named in the Proteas’ squad for this month’s ODI series against India.

Western Province team-mates Tony de Zorzi, Kyle Verreynne and Nandre Burger has also been selected for the ODI squad.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

“My maiden call up to the Proteas, I am excited and I would say nervous as well. But to be honest it’s surreal. Those are the words that can explain how I feel right now,” said Mpongwana.

“I didn’t think that it would ever come this soon. When I look back, I didn’t think I’d be saying that in five years I’ll potentially be making my debut or in the squad for the Proteas. Its an amazing feeling.”

Mpongwana is currently with South Africa A for the ongoing series against West Indies A. He took four wickets in the series opener and none in the second match.

“It has been a learning curve for me as a young player coming into the SA A set-up. The level and professionalism is much closer to international standard. It’s also good preparation for me going into the India series,” he added.

Proteas’ squads for series against India

Proteas’ T20I squad

  1. Aiden Markram (captain, Titans)
  2. Ottniel Baartman (Dolphins)
  3. Matthew Breetzke (Warriors)
  4. Nandre Burger (Western Province)
  5. Gerald Coetzee (Titans)
  6. Donovan Ferreira (Titans)
  7. Reeza Hendricks (Lions)
  8. Marco Jansen (Warriors)
  9. Heinrich Klaasen (Titans)
  10. Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins)
  11. David Miller (Dolphins)
  12. Lungi Ngidi (Titans)
  13. Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins)
  14. Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans)
  15. Tristan Stubbs (Warriors)
  16. Lizaad Williams (Titans)

Proteas’ ODI squad

  1. Aiden Markram (captain, Titans)
  2. Ottniel Baartman (Dolphins)
  3. Nandre Burger (Western Province)
  4. Tony de Zorzi (Western Province)
  5. Reeza Hendricks (Lions)
  6. Heinrich Klaasen (Titans)
  7. Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins)
  8. Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province)
  9. David Miller (Dolphins)
  10. Wiaan Mulder (Lions)
  11. Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins)
  12. Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans)
  13. Rassie van der Dussen (Lions)
  14. Kyle Verreynne (Western Province)
  15. Lizaad Williams (Titans)

Proteas’ Test squad

  1. Temba Bavuma (captain, Lions)
  2. David Bedingham (Western Province)
  3. Nandre Burger (Western Province)
  4. Gerald Coetzee (Titans)
  5. Tony de Zorzi (Western Province)
  6. Dean Elgar (Titans)
  7. Marco Jansen (Warriors)
  8. Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins)
  9. Aiden Markram (Titans)
  10. Wiaan Mulder (Lions)
  11. Lungi Ngidi (Titans)
  12. Keegan Petersen (Boland)
  13. Kagiso Rabada (Lions)
  14. Tristan Stubbs (Warriors)
  15. Kyle Verreynne (Western Province)

MORE latest Proteas cricket news