Mihlali Mpongwana working with Neil McKenzie to improve batting

Mihlali Mpongwana.Mihlali Mpongwana cricket.

Western Province’s Mihlali Mpongwana is among a dozen batsmen working with former Proteas cricketer Neil McKenzie during Cricket South Africa’s spin-bowling and batting camp this week.

Mpongwana is primarily a seamer, but was listed among 12 batsmen for the CSA camp in Durban after some promising performances earlier this year.

These included a List A career-best 61 not out against the Warriors at Newlands in Cape Town. Mpongwana currently averages 33.75 after 13 innings in List A cricket.

Western Province deployed the burgeoning all-rounder as high as seventh position in the batting order during division one of the 2021-22 One Day Cup.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

What McKenzie said

McKenzie is one of five coaches, including former Cape Cobras coaches Paul Adams and Shukri Conrad, at the camp.

“CSA has identified the opportunity to get our players to play spin better. The earlier we can get our players to understand what they need to do when playing and/or against spin, the better it is for us to understand and nurture the talent for the future of our national teams,” said McKenzie.

“With most of our senior spinners away in England, this provides an opportunity for more players to come in and get exposed to our spin play and methods.

“A lot of information is being shared with experienced coaches, and the combination of young and experienced talent. At times, one learns more off senior players more than coaches.

“We believe this will provide the players with confidence to thrive and apply pressure when playing against spin; the spinners getting better with their game and batters dealing with spin conditions.”

2022 CSA spin-bowling and batting camp


  1. Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province)
  2. Andile Simelane (Dolphins)
  3. Valentine Kitime (Boland)
  4. Sinethemba Qeshile (Warriors)
  5. Patrick Kruger (Knights)
  6. Jonathan Bird (Western Province)
  7. Raynard van Tonder (Knights)
  8. Joshua Richards (Lions)
  9. Jordan Hermann (Warriors)
  10. Jiveshan Pillay ( Titans)
  11. Ruan De Swart (Dolphins)
  12. Levert Manje (Lions)


  1. Bryce Parsons (Dolphins)
  2. Tumelo Tlhokwe (North West)
  3. Tshepo Ntuli (Northern Cape)
  4. Odirile Modimokoane (Dolphins)
  5. Prenelan Subrayen (Dolphins)
  6. Jason Raubenheimer (Knights)
  7. Caleb Seleka (Dragons)
  8. Tsepo Ndwandwa (Warriors)
  9. Smangaliso Nhlebela (Titans)
  10. Bjorn Fortuin (Lions),
  11. Kurt Mannikam (KwaZulu-Natal Inland)


  1. Neil McKenzie
  2. Shukri Conrad
  3. Malibongwe Maketa
  4. Paul Adams
  5. Mthandeki Tshabalala

More SA cricket news