Milnerton, Strandfontein, UCT Cricket Club the big winners at WPCA awards

Milnerton Cricket ClubMilnerton Cricket Club claimed the Best Fielding Team trophy.

University of Cape Town Cricket Club were named Club of the Year at Saturday, 20 May 2017’s annual Western Province Cricket Association awards ceremony.

UCT Cricket Club beat fellow nominees Durbanville Cricket Club, Milnerton Cricket Club, Strandfontein Cricket Club and Western Province Cricket Club to the coveted award, which was based on the clubs’ disciplinary record, administration, overall log positioning and other.

The accolade was won by Elsies River Northlink Cricket Club last season, Bellville Cricket Club in 2014-15, Tygerberg Cricket Club in 2013-14, Durbanville Cricket Club in 2012-13 and Mitchells Plain Cricket Club in 2011-12.

A representative from UCT Cricket Club, unfortunately, was not at the ceremony to collect the esteemed prize. Somerset West Cricket Club, Sir Lowry’s Pass Cricket Club, Claremont Cricket Club, University of the Western Cape Cricket Club, Glamorgan Cricket Club, Rondebosch Cricket Club and Atlantis Cricket Club were also conspicuously absent.

Strandfontein Cricket Club, meanwhile, succeeded Ottoman Cricket Club as the Most Sporting Team of the Year – and Claremont Cricket Club were replaced by Milnerton Cricket Club as the Best Fielding Team of the Year.

Primrose Cricket Club’s Siya Sibiya was heralded Coach of the Year, while Cape Town Cricket Club batsman Neo Mlumbi claimed the inaugural Academy Player of the Year accolade.

Durbanville Cricket Club’s Pieter Malan, who secured the Sunfoil 3-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year trophy at the Cricket South Africa amateur awards earlier this month, was lauded First-Class Player of the Year.

The event, which was held at the Western Province Cricket Club in Cape Town, also yielded the following awards:

Under-13 Youth Cricketer of the Year: Michael Levitt
Under-15 Youth Cricketer of the Year: Jonathan Bird
Under-17 Youth Cricketer of the Year: Justin Broad
Under-19 Youth Cricketer of the Year: Jesse Christensen
Under-19 Girls Youth Cricket of the Year: Nadia Mbokotwana

Umpire of the Year: Shamiel Isaacs
Scorer of the Year: Khanyisa Zonke
Deaf Player of the Year: Shamiel Howley
Blind Player of the Year: Sergil January
Women’s Player of the Year: Andrie Steyn
Mini Cricket Coordinator of the Year: Shirley Davids