Montrose CC crowned WP Veterans league champions

Montrose Cricket ClubFile image: Montrose Cricket Club.

Montrose Cricket Club defeated Claremont Cricket Club in the final of the 2021-22 Western Province Veterans Cricket Association league final on Sunday, 27 February.

Claremont Cricket Club reached 91 for 10 in the allotted 20 overs. First-change bowler Niaz Ahmed claimed figures of three for 15 in four overs.

Montrose Cricket Club responded with 92 for four in 18.3 for a six-wicket victory. Middle-0rder batsmen Adi Jackson and Mario Solomons top-scored with 33 not out and 30, respectively.

Montrose Cricket Club succeeded Pinelands Cricket Club as reigning WPVCA league champions.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

WPVCA league top batsman

Primrose Cricket Club batsman Saleem Mukuddem was the top run-scorer in the 2021-22 WPVCA league, according to’s latest data.

He collected 274 in seven innings for an average of 55, at a strike rate of 127.

WPVCA league top bowler

Green Point Cricket Club seamer Luke Knipe was the top wicket-taker for the 2021-22 WPVCA league.

The left-armer took 17 in six innings for an average of seven, at a strike rate of eight.

Final 2021-22 WPCVA league positions

  1. Montrose Cricket Club
  2. Claremont Cricket Club
  3. Victoria Cricket Club
  4. Northern Knights Cricket Club
  5. Fish Hoek Cricket Club
  6. Rondebosch Cricket Club
  7. Pinelands Cricket Club
  8. Primrose Cricket Club
  9. United Cricket Club
  10. Cape Town Cricket Club
  11. Western Province Cricket Club
  12. Hanover Park Cricket Club

More cricket news