Montrose Cricket Club join seven other clubs for inaugural Cape Veterans T20 League

File image: Montrose Cricket Club's Malta Park.File image: Montrose Cricket Club's Malta Park.

Montrose Cricket Club have replaced Western Province Cricket Club in the Cape Veterans T20 League.

Western Province Cricket Club were named among the original eight teams in the inaugural tournament, but withdrew earlier this month.

Montrose Cricket Club’s Malta Park, too, has replaced Western Province Cricket Club’s Wally Wilson Oval as one of eight tournament venues.

Montrose Cricket Club have provisionally named former Cape Cobras and current South Africa Emerging coach Shukri Conrad in a strong squad. Former provincial batsman and current Ottoman Cricket Club head coach Hassan Pangarker has also been included.

Teams for the 2019 Cape Veterans T20 League

  • Cape Town Cricket Club
  • Claremont Cricket Club
  • Fish Hoek Cricket Club
  • Green Point Cricket Club
  • Montrose Cricket Club
  • Pinelands Cricket Club
  • Rondebosch Cricket Club
  • St Augustine Cricket Club

The competition is limited to players 40 years and older – and will be played across seven rounds, on Wednesday afternoons, from mid-October 2019 to mid-February 2020.

The Western Province Cricket Association contemplated introducing a veterans league several seasons ago, but the concept didn’t gather enough interest.

Over-50 World Cup

Cape Town will host next year’s Over-50 World Cup. South Africa competed in the 2018 edition in Sydney, alongside Australia, Pakistan, England, New Zealand, Canada, Sri Lanka and Wales.

India, the West Indies, Zimbabwe and Namibia will grow the tournament to 12 teams in 2020. The Over-50 World Cup will be played from 11 to 24 March 2020.

Also read