Mpumalanga ‘stay loyal to local players’, include Alex Kok and others

File image: Alex Kok.

Batsmen Alek Kok, Glen Adams and Liam Peters have been included in Mpumalanga’s squad for the 2021-22 domestic season in South Africa.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rubin Hermann and batsman Yassar Cook have arrived from Northerns and North West, respectively.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. Comments disabled. No spam.

Mpumalanga have been placed among the bottom tier of the country’s new domestic structure, which will return to provincial rather than franchise competition later this year.

“The process of putting together a competitive squad was challenging taking into account that we can only contract 11 players,” said Mpumalanga chief executive officer Jaco Visagie.

“We do feel that we covered all our bases. We tried to stay loyal to local players as well as players that have represented us before.

“The additions will definitely assist us in reaching our goals. We would like to welcome all players into the Rhino Reserve.”

Mpumalanga squad for 2021-22 season

  • Glen Adams
  • Yassar Cook
  • Rubin Hermann
  • Jon Hinrichsen
  • Luvuyo Knese
  • Alex Kok
  • Tumelo Koto
  • Liam Peters
  • Blake Schraader
  • Benjamin van Niekerk
  • Bamanye Xenxe

Also read

Be the first to comment on "Mpumalanga ‘stay loyal to local players’, include Alex Kok and others"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.