Multiple WPCA first division A cricketers in final WP Over-40 trials squad

Robin van HarteRobin van Harte.

Several Western Province Cricket Association premier league and first division A players have been named in the final squad for the Western Province Over-40 trials.

The latest 26-man squad, which was reduced by approximately half after other rounds of trials earlier this year, includes Durbanville Cricket Club’s Jaco Castle, Milnerton Cricket Club’s Robin van Harte and other active WPCA premier league and first division A cricketers.

Former Proteas batsman Ashwell Prince, who has played for Victoria Cricket Club in the Western Province Veterans Cricket Association league this season, has also been included. Prince also played for Victoria Cricket Club’s second XI in the WPCA reserve division A earlier this year.

Cape Town Cricket Club have the most representatives in the 26-man squad with four. Milnerton Cricket Club have three.

Wynberg Cricket Club, Western Province Cricket Club, Hanover Park Cricket Club and Green Point Cricket Club are not represented.

This final trial will be hosted by Pinelands Cricket Club on Sunday, 5 March 2023.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Final Western Province Over-40 trials squad

  1. Werner Moolman (Brackenfell Cricket Club)
  2. Monier Enos (Montrose Cricket Club)
  3. Kevin Heuvel (Strandfontein Cricket Club)
  4. Ebrahim Shade (Blue Bells Cricket Club)
  5. Wayne Hendricks (Cape Town Cricket Club)
  6. Raafick HassanĀ (Ottoman Cricket Club)
  7. Francois Vermaak (Cape Town Cricket Club)
  8. Sadiek Davids (Ottoman Cricket Club)
  9. Luke Knipe (United Cricket Club)
  10. Robin van Harte (Milnerton Cricket Club)
  11. Derrin Bassage (Pinelands Cricket Club)
  12. Daniel Styer (Cape Town Cricket Club)
  13. Justin Du Toit (Milnerton Cricket Club)
  14. Ashwell Prince (Victoria Cricket Club)
  15. Mark Ritchie (Cape Town Cricket Club)
  16. Saadiek Davids (Primrose Cricket Club)
  17. Ashley Fernandez (Victoria Cricket Club)
  18. Duane Viljoen (Claremont Cricket Club)
  19. Brandon Miller (Fish Hoek Cricket Club)
  20. Keith Ingram (Rondebosch Cricket Club)
  21. Ryan Milne (Milnerton Cricket Club)
  22. Jaco Castle (Durbanville Cricket Club)
  23. Adie Jackson (Montrose Cricket Club)
  24. Ridiwaan Williams (Rylands Cricket Club)
  25. Nizaam Allie (Primrose Cricket Club)
  26. Derek Pedersen (Fish Hoek Cricket Club)

MORE veterans cricket news