Mzansi Super League franchises announce retained players

File image: Janneman Malan.File image: Janneman Malan.

The six franchises have announced the players retained for the 2019 Mzansi Super League.

Retained players

Cape Town Blitz

  • Asif Ali
  • Janneman Malan
  • Anrich Nortje
  • Dale Steyn

Durban Heat

  • Kyle Abbott
  • Sarel Erwee
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • David Miller
  • Khaya Zondo

Also read: What these 14 club cricketers earned at the 2018 MSL player draft

Jozi Stars

  • Dan Christian
  • Reeza Hendricks
  • Duanne Olivier
  • Sinethemba Qeshile
  • Ryan Rickelton
  • Rassie van der Dussen

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants

  • Junior Dala
  • Heino Kuhn
  • Marco Marais
  • Chris Morris
  • Jon-Jon Smuts

Also read: Durbanville Cricket Club stars join Mzansi Super League

Paarl Rocks

  • Henry Davids
  • Cameron Delport
  • Bjorn Fortuin
  • Aiden Markram
  • Mangaliso Mosehle
  • Tabraiz Shamsi

Tshwane Spartans

  • Theunis de Bruyn
  • Tony de Zorzi
  • Lungi Ngidi
  • Lutho Sipamla

Initial squads from 2018’s inaugural Mzansi Super League

Durban Heat: Hashim Amla, Rashid Khan, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Kyle Abbott, Keshav Maharaj, Khaya Zondo, Albie Morkel, Marchant de Lange, Vernon Philander, Brandon Mavuta, Temba Bavuma, Morne van Wyk, Okuhle Cele, Sarel Erwee, Tladi Bokako.

Jozi Stars: Kagiso Rabada, Chris Gayle, Dane Vilas, Rassie van der Dussen, Dan Christian, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine Pretorius, Eddie Leie, Pite van Biljon, Duanne Olivier, Ryan Rickelton, Sinethemba Qeshile, Simon Harmer, Calvin Savage, Alfred Mothoa.

Paarl Rocks: Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dane Paterson, Aiden Markram, Mangaliso Mosehle, Bjorn Fortuin, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Grant Thomson, Tshepo Moreki, Henry Davids, Cameron Delport, Eathan Bosch, Patrick Kruger, Kerwin Mungroo, David Wiese, Michael Klinger.

Cape Town Blitz: Quinton de Kock, Dawid Malan, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Asif Ali, Farhaan Behardien, Anrich Nortje, Janneman Malan, Malusi Siboto, George Linde, Ferisco Adams, Jason Smith, Sibonelo Makhanya, Kyle Verreynne, Dane Piedt, Muhammad Nawaz, Hussain Tallat.

Tshwane Spartans: AB de Villiers, Eoin Morgan, Lungi Ngidi, Robbie Frylinck, Jeevan Mendis, Theunis de Bruyn, Rory Kleinveldt, Sean Williams, Gihahn Cloete, Lutho Sipamla, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Andrew Birch, Sikandar Raza, Shaun von Berg, Eldred Hawken, Rilee Rossouw.

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants: Imran Tahir, Jason Roy, Chris Morris, Jon-Jon Smuts, Junior Dala, Christiaan Jonker, Aaron Phangiso, Ben Duckett, Sisanda Magala, Ryan McLaren, Heino Kuhn, Marco Marais, Dyllan Matthews, Lizaard Williams, Rudi Second, Carmi le Roux.

Cricket South Africa said this week

“This is confirmation that MSL is now an established global brand that is taking its place at the head table alongside the other Global T20 events,” said Cricket South Africa chief executive officer Thabang Moroe.

“We have drawn interest from around the world with players applying from virtually all the top-tier international countries.

“To this can be added our Proteas, past and present, who will add further lustre to our tournament. This will certainly be the biggest T20 event we have hosted since the inaugural T20 World Cup that was staged here in 2007 and became the forerunner of all the global T20 events that followed.

“We look forward to adding yet another highlight to our home international season that will be followed by the incoming tours by England and Australia. All our stakeholders can look forward to an exciting 2019-20 summer.”

The Jozi Stars are the reigning champions, after beating the Cape Town Blitz in 2018’s final.

Be the first to comment on "Mzansi Super League franchises announce retained players"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.