Natalie Germanos, Graeme Smith among MLC commentators

Natalie Germanos cricketNatalie Germanos.

Former Proteas captain Graeme Smith and renowned South African cricket pundit Natalie Germanos have been included among the commentators for this month’s inaugural edition of Major League Cricket in the United States of America.

The tournament, which starts this week, will feature the Texas Super Kings, MI New York, Los Angeles Knight Riders, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas and Washington Freedom.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Major League Cricket (MLC) commentators

  1. Sunil Gavaskar
  2. Graeme Smith
  3. Danny Morrison
  4. Mpumelelo Mbangwa
  5. Natalie Germanos
  6. Alan Wilkins
  7. Nikhil Uttamchandani

“MLC’s inaugural season will be broadcast live in the United States on Willow TV and across numerous major cricketing nations, including Australia (FOX Cricket), the Caribbean (SportsMax), India (Viacom18), New Zealand (Sky NZ), Pakistan (A Sports), South Africa (SuperSport) and the United Kingdom (BT Sport),” read a statement from Major League Cricket.

“The broadcast partnerships will bring the transformative T20 franchise competition, featuring many of the world’s top players competing in the United States for the first time, to cricket fans around the world. The broadcasts will feature a world class production, with a 30-camera set-up for the matches at Grand Prairie Stadium in North Texas and Church Street Park in North Carolina.

Superstar players set to take part in MLC include Afghanistan T20 captain Rashid Khan, Pakistan’s Shadab Khan and Haris Rauf, South African internationals Faf du Plessis and David Miller, West Indians Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell, Australians Marcus Stoinis and Aaron Finch, England’s Jason Roy and New Zealand’s Trent Boult.”

South Africans in Major League (MLC)

Several current and former Proteas – and franchise and provincial cricketers from South Africa – are involved in the first season of MLC.

Los Angeles Knight Riders

  • Rilee Rossouw
  • Corne Dry
  • Shadley Van Schalkwyk

MI New York

  • Dewald Brevis
  • David Wiese
  • Kagiso Rabada

San Francisco Unicorns

  • Lungi Ndigi
  • Carmi le Roux
  • David White

Seattle Orcas

  • Quinton de Kock
  • Wayne Parnell
  • Matthew Tromp
  • Dwayne Pretorius
  • Heinrich Klaasen

Texas Super Kings

  • Imran Tahir
  • David Miller
  • Gerald Coetzee
  • Rusty Theron
  • Calvin Savage
  • Faf du Plessis
  • Cody Chetty

Washington Freedom

  • Anrich Nortje
  • Marco Jansen
  • Andries Gous
  • Obus Pienaar
  • Dane Piedt
  • Justin Dill

MORE latest Minor League Cricket (MilC) and Major League Cricket (MLC) news