National Club Championship, day one: match reports and scores in brief

Jean BredenkampFile image: Jean Bredenkamp.

A wrap of results from day one of the 2018 National Club Championship in Pretoria.

North-West University Cricket Club (Pukke) v Yorkshire Cricket Club

Opening batsman Jean Bredenkamp struck a superb century, as North-West University Cricket Club gathered a comfortable 103-run victory over Yorkshire Cricket Club at the Tshwane University of Technology Oval on Sunday.

Man of the Match Bredenkamp was well supported by the talented Lourén Steenkamp, who welcomed a complementary half-ton.  Yorkshire Cricket Club’s response was severely insufficient, despite a fighting half-century from the veteran Mbulelo Bosman.

Scores in brief:

Pukke 342/4 (50 overs)

  • Jean Bredenkamp 152 not out; Lourén Steenkamp 89
  • Kagisho Mohale 1/46; Sam Laven 1/48

Yorkshire Cricket Club 239/10 (45.5 overs)

  • Mbulelo Bosman 54; Grant Mokoena 48
  • Ruan Haasbroek 4/58; Bjorn Fortuin 2/37

Wellington Cricket Club v University of Pretoria Cricket Club (Tuks)

Seamer Migael Pretorius and the hard-hitting Ruben Hermann were at the fore of the University of Pretoria Cricket Club’s dominant seven-wicket win over Wellington Cricket Club at the Tuks Oval.

Pretorius clinched three key wickets to restrict the opposition to an inadequate total, after which Man of the Match Hermann recorded a brisk half-century during a straightforward pursuit.

Scores in brief:

Wellington Cricket Club 162/10 (45.5 overs)

  • Curtley Louw 33; Junaid Cassiem 32
  • Migael Pretorius 3/31; Ruan de Swardt 2/30

Tuks 163/3 (25.5 overs)

  • Rubin Hermann 67 not out; Neil Brand 40
  • Zakhele Qwabe 2/23; Aubrey Philander 1/46

University of Fort Hare Cricket Club v Crusaders Cricket Club

Opener Johnny Riekert carried Crusaders Cricket Club to a solid eight-wicket triumph over the University of Fort Hare Cricket Club at Irene Country Club.

Seamers Nick Hewer and Tyron Koen shared six important wickets amid the University of Fort Hare Cricket Club’s struggles with the bat, before Riekert capitalised during a relatively challenging chase.

Scores in brief:

University of Fort Hare Cricket Club 226/10 (48.4 overs)

  • Yamkela Oliphant 82; Jongile Kilani 42
  • Nick Hewer 3/28; Tyron Koen 3/41

Crusaders Cricket Club 227/2 (38.4 overs)

  • Johnny Riekert 89; Riaan Minnie 63
  • Simthembile Langa 1/17; Bhongolwethu Makeleni 1/41