North West and Jo’burg Giants recruit joins Western Province

Andre MalanFile image: Andre Malan (left).

North West and Jo’burg Giants all-rounder Andre Malan has joined Western Province, ahead of the 2018-19 season.

The brother of Cape Cobras batsmen Pieter and Janneman Malan, Andre was meant to participate in the inaugural edition of the T20 Global League, prior to its postponement.

Malan would have played for the Johannesburg-based outfit alongside Pakistan leg-spinner Yasir Shah, West Indian batsman Nicholas Pooran – and Proteas stars Kagiso Rabada, Vernon Philander, Andile Phehlukwayo, Christiaan Jonker, Temba Bavuma, Duanne Olivier and others.

Western Province finished second to eventual champions KwaZulu-Natal in the 2017-18 Sunfoil 3-Day Cup, on the back of five victories and three draws in 10 Pool A matches.

The 26-year-old Andre Malan, playing for North West at the time, took 22 wickets in nine fixtures – at an average of 22.13. He also struck 378 runs in 13 innings – at an average of 37.80. He was also a key member of North West’s title-winning CSA Provincial One-Day Challenge campaign.

The University of Cape Town Cricket Club’s Jack Newby, Tygerberg Cricket Club’s Carlos Koyana, United Cricket Club’s Qaasim Adams, Western Province Cricket Club’s Michael Cohen, Milnerton Cricket Club’s Matthew Kleinveldt, Bellville Cricket Club’s Justin Dill and the University of the Western Cape Cricket Club’s Junaid Dawood have also been contracted.

“We have a classical blend of exuberant youth and experience in the squad, and have the right mix to continue to be in the title hunt,” said Western Province Cricket Association Cricket Services Manager Clinton du Preez.

“Three seasons ago, we were beaten finalists in the Sunfoil 3-Day Cup – and the past two seasons we have finished a close second in our group and narrowly missed out on a place in the three-day final.

“We can build on these performances with these group of players who offer us a group of potential match-winners. Simultaneously, they will throw their hats into the franchise ring as contenders for a place in the Cape Cobras team on a consistent basis.

“We have a core group of provincial academy players, who form part of the senior provincial pipeline and putting pressure on players to ensure that the pipeline offers enough opportunity.”

Cape Town Cricket Club’s Neo Mlumbi and UCT Cricket Club’s Taariq Chiecktey were contracted last season, but are not listed this season.

Full list of contracted players: Qaasim Adams, Andre Malan, Isaac Dikgale, Thando Ntini, Michael Cohen, Junaid Dawood, Matthew Kleinveldt, Jack Newby, Carlos Koyana, Mpilo Njoloza, Justin Dill.