Ntini, Matthews and others gain wildcard selection for 2019 Mzansi Super League

File image: Thando Ntini.File image: Thando Ntini.

Western Province fast bowler Thando Ntini and Easterns leg-spinner Dyllan Matthews were among the six wildcards named for the 2019 Mzansi Super League on Wednesday.

Ntini and Matthews were chosen by the Paarl Rocks and Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, respectively. Matthews was in the Giants’ squad for the 2018 MSL, but played just one match.

The Durban Heat, meanwhile, opted for Proteas T20I all-rounder Robbie Frylinck. He starred for the title-winning Pietermaritzburg Spurs in the 2019 Dolphins Premier League earlier this month.

Cape Cobras seamer Dane Paterson also joined the Rocks, while the Tshwane Spartans and Cape Town Blitz recruited Northerns batsman Donvan Ferreira and Easterns seamer Khwezi Gumede, respectively.

2019 Mzansi Super League wildcard picks

  • Nelson Mandela Bay Giants: Dyllan Matthews
  • Durban Heat: Robbie Frylinck
  • Cape Town Blitz: Khwezi Gumede
  • Tshwane Spartans: Donovan Ferreira
  • Paarl Rocks: Thando Ntini
  • Jozi Stars: Dane Paterson

The wildcard picks, which were based on performances in the recently concluded Provincial T20 Cup (formerly Africa T20 Cup), effectively capped selection for this year’s MSL. The player draft had taken place earlier this month.

The 2019 MSL will start on 8 November and end with 16 December’s final. The Stars are the defending champions, after beating the Blitz in last year’s inaugural final.

Also read