Who did Paarl Royals retain and release for 2024 SA20?

Paarl Royals cricket SA20Paarl Royals.

Paarl Royals’ preliminary squad for 2024’s edition of the SA20 has been announced. The squad will be finalised at 27 September 2023’s player auction.

The Royals have released these players ahead of next year’s SA20:

  1. Paul Stirling
  2. Eoin Morgan
  3. Ramond Simmonds
  4. Imran Manack
  5. Corbin Bosch

Morgan retired from professional cricket shortly after the inaugural SA20, while Bosch has moved to the Pretoria Capitals.

Paarl Royals preliminary squad

The Royals have retained England limited-overs captain Jos Buttler and Proteas batsman David Miller. – and signed South Africa Under-19 fast bowler Kwena Maphaka.

1. Kwena Maphaka Pre-signed SA
2. David Miller Pre-signed SA
3. Jos Buttler Pre-signed Overseas
4. Obed McCoy Pre-signed Overseas
5. Tabraiz Shamsi Retained SA
6. Lungi Ngidi Retained SA
7. Jason Roy Retained Overseas
8. Andile Phehlukwayo Retained SA
9. Dane Vilas Retained SA
10. Bjorn Fortuin Retained SA
11. Mitchell van Buuren Retained SA
12. Wihan Lubbe Retained SA
13. Ferisco Adams Retained SA
14. Codi Yusuf Retained SA
15. Evan Jones Retained SA
16. Auction pick At auction SA or overseas
17. Auction pick At auction SA or overseas
18. Wildcard pick Before 30 December SA or overseas
19. Rookie draft pick At auction SA

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

SA20 league commissioner Graeme Smith said: “The quality of the players already included in the squads, including a few newcomers, is testimony to the success of the inaugural season.”

MORE latest SA20 news