Pieter Malan, Mthiwekhaya Nabe and Zubayr Hamza win Cape Cobras awards

Cape Cobras awards 2018

Durbanville Cricket Club’s Pieter Malan, Milnerton Cricket Club’s Mthiwekhaya Nabe and the University of the Western Cape Cricket Club’s Zubayr Hamza were the big winners at Tuesday, 27 March 2018’s Cape Cobras player awards function at Newlands in Cape Town.

Malan won the following accolades:

  • Cape Cobras’ Momentum One Day Cup Player of the Year
  • Players’ Player of the Year
  • Momentum One Day Cup Spirited Cricketer of the Year
  • Cricketer of the Year

The talented opener was the leading run-scorer in the 2017-18 Momentum One Day Cup – and the third highest in the 2017-18 Sunfoil Series, after the Lions’ Rassie van der Dussen and the Dolphins’ Vaughn van Jaarsveld.

Hamza was named the Cape Cobras’ Sunfoil Series Player of the Year. He managed 828 runs in 14 innings at an impressive average of 69 in the 2017-18 edition of South Africa’s premier first-class tournament.

Nabe clinched the Cape Cobras’ Young Player of the Year award. The right-arm seamer took 10, 17 and nine wickets in this season’s Sunfoil Series, Momentum One Day Cup and Ram Slam T20 Challenge, respectively.

Strandfontein Cricket Club’s JP Duminy secured the Cape Cobras’ Ram Slam T20 Challenge Player of the Year accolade.

Cape Town Cricket Club’s Kyle Verreynne was the recipient of Spirited Cricketer of the Year in the Sunfoil Series.