Pietermaritzburg Spurs crowned 2019 Dolphins Premier League champions

File image: Pietermaritzburg Spurs.File image: Pietermaritzburg Spurs.

The Pietermaritzburg Spurs beat the East Coast Wizards by five wickets in Sunday’s 2019 Dolphins Premier League final at Kingsmead in Durban.

The Wizards posted a final total of 166 for six, after which the Spurs reached 167 for five with three deliveries to spare.

Savage stars for Spurs

Dolphins all-rounder Calvin Savage starred for the Spurs, striking 48 from 20 balls, which featured four fours and as many sixes. Proteas T20I all-rounder Robbie Frylinck, meanwhile, struck a characteristically brisk 20.

“The younger players really stood out for us and showed great confidence in themselves throughout the competition. As a senior core we wanted the younger guys to express themselves and be positive and not be too nervous. That’s what they did and I think that was an important factor in our whole campaign,” said captain Savage.

The Spurs and Wizards had welcomed semi-final wins over the Tugela Sharks and Durban Chiefs, respectively, earlier in the day. Frylinck hit 55 not out against the Sharks.

The eThekwini Hurricanes, Zulu Kings, Drakensberg Thunder and Umgeni Rhinos also competed in the 2019 DPL, but failed to graduate to the semi-finals.

The Hurricanes won last year’s inaugural DPL, after beating the Sharks in the final.

CPL in Cape Town

The Dolphins Premier League is effectively the sister tournament of the Cape Premier League., which was launched earlier this year.

The Cape Vikings won the 2019 CPL, having beaten the Hoeri Kwaggo Bulls in the final at Newlands. Vikings captain and leg-spinner Alistair Gray claimed telling figures of seven for 14, including a hat-trick, in late April’s final.

The CPL also featured the Atlantic Pirates, District Sixers, Dromedaris Dragons and Kynsna Falcons.

Also read

Full squads for 2019 Dolphins Premier League

Gray carries Vikings to 2019 Cape Premier League title