Player transfers for 2021-22 SA domestic season – updated 19 April

File image: Dane Paterson.

Which players are reportedly moving, where, as South Africa’s domestic cricket reverts to provincial rather than franchise competition?

The majority of these moves have been officially confirmed by the teams or players. Others are derived from reputable sources, but not necessarily formally confirmed yet.

Player Leaving Joining
Dane Paterson Cape Cobras Eastern Province
Tshepo Ntuli Warriors Gauteng
Aya Gqamane Warriors Northerns
Gihahn Cloete Warriors Northerns
Thando Ntini Titans KwaZulu-Natal Coastal
Heino Kuhn Titans North West
Stiaan van Zyl Cape Cobras Boland
Senuran Muthusamy Dolphins North West
Dwaine Pretorius Lions North West
Shaun von Berg Knights Boland
Yaseen Vallie Warriors Western Province
Janneman Malan Cape Cobras Boland
Pieter Malan Cape Cobras Boland
Jason Oakes Dolphins North West
Eldred Hawken Lions North West
Duan Jansen Knights North West
Shaylen Pillay Lions North West
Gregory Mahlokwana Titans Free State
Mangaliso Mosehle Dolphins Free State
Wesley Marshall Lions North West
Delano Potgieter Lions North West
Beuran Hendricks Lions Western Province
Kyle Simmonds Titans Western Province
Nono Pongolo Lions North West
Nicky van den Bergh Lions North West
Jason Smith Cape Cobras KwaZulu-Natal Coastal
Hardus Viljoen Titans Boland
Aaron Phangiso Lions Northerns
Ferisco Adams Knights Boland
Corbin Bosch Cape Cobras Northerns
Duanne Olivier Knights Gauteng
More to follow…
More to follow…
More to follow…
More to follow…

North West and Boland are among the eight teams named in the top tier of the country’s new first-class cricket structure.

The rest of the eight-team top tier comprises Western Province, Eastern Province, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal and Northerns.

The new system will start later this year and effectively replace franchise cricket, which was instated in 2003-04.

Cricket South Africa confirmed the new structure will exist for two seasons before a promotion and relegation system will commence.

Division 1

  1. Western Province
  2. Boland
  3. Eastern Province
  4. Free State
  5. Central Gauteng Lions
  6. KwaZulu-Natal Coastal
  7. North West
  8. Northerns

Division 2

  1. Mpumalanga
  2. KwaZulu-Natal Inland
  3. South Western Districts
  4. Northern Cape
  5. Easterns
  6. Border
  7. Limpopo

“I would like to congratulate those teams that have made it into the two divisions. This is the culmination of a process that started back in 2016, when it became apparent that in order for CSA to maintain its position as a powerhouse in world cricket, it needed to create a strong pool of players reflective of our society,” said CSA members’ council acting president Rihan Richards.

“It was imperative that we reviewed our domestic structure to deliver on these goals. We have worked hard to get here and we believe this new structure will go a long way towards helping us achieve some of the goals laid down at the outset.”

Also read