Proteas announce World Cup squad – who’s in, who’s out

Proteas cricketProteas.

Cricket South Africa announced the Proteas’ squad for the 2023 Cricket World Cup in India on Tuesday.

Seamers Sisanda Magala and Gerald Coetzee were named in the 15-man squad.

Spinners Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj were also selected.

All-rounder Wayne Parnell and batsmen Tristan Stubbs and Dewald Brevis were excluded.

Proteas’ World Cup squad

  1. Temba Bavuma (captain)
  2. Gerald Coetzee
  3. Quinton de Kock
  4. Reeza Hendricks
  5. Marco Jansen
  6. Heinrich Klaasen
  7. Sisanda Magala
  8. Keshav Maharaj
  9. Aiden Markram
  10. David Miller
  11. Lungi Ngidi
  12. Anrich Nortje
  13. Kagiso Rabada
  14. Tabraiz Shamsi
  15. Rassie van der Dussen

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

What Proteas coach Rob Walter said

“It is always tough choosing a World Cup squad and I’ve said it a couple of times, the stronger the depth of your team, the better the players are that you’re leaving out,” said Walter.

“It’s great having a mix of experienced players and players who will be competing in their first 50-over World Cup – you get that sort of exuberance of excitement to be doing something for the first time.

“Similar to the level of experience, we have endeavoured to curate a well-balanced group of players and skill, that will allow us to effectively adapt to the conditions in India.”

Cricket South Africa director of cricket Enoch Nkwe added: “The World Cup is the pinnacle for every player, no matter what the sport is. As a boy it is something you dream of and I’m sure these players will be all be feeling extremely proud today.

“I would like to congratulate all of them on their selection and I am sure they will represent the Proteas badge with distinction and honour. We have no doubt they will give everything in India and do their best to try and bring the trophy home.”

Proteas’ World Cup record

South Africa’s World Cup campaign will start against Sri Lanka in Delhi on 7 October.

The Proteas have competed in eight World Cups. They have never won the tournament, but have collected four semi-final and two quarter-final exits. In 2019, they failed to advance from the group stage.

England are the reigning Cricket World Cup champions. Australia are the most successful country in the history of the tournament with five titles.

South Africa will host the 2027 Cricket World Cup.

MORE latest SA cricket news