Proteas include Ryan Rickelton and Ottniel Baartman in T20 World Cup squad

Ryan Rickelton cricketRyan Rickelton.

Cricket South Africa have announced the Proteas’ squad for June 2024’s T20 World Cup in the United States of America and West Indies.

Batsman Ryan Rickelton and seamer Ottniel Baartman, who have not been capped in T20I cricket yet, have been named in the 15-man squad.

The squad also includes fast bowler Anrich Nortje and spinner Bjorn Fortuin.

All-rounders Andile Phelukwayo and Wiaan Mulder and batsmen Matthew Breetzke and Rassie van der Dussen were not selected.

South Africa’s T20 World Cup squad

  1. Aiden Markram (captain)
  2. Ottniel Baartman
  3. Gerald Coetzee
  4. Quinton de Kock
  5. Bjorn Fortuin
  6. Reeza Hendricks
  7. Marco Jansen
  8. Heinrich Klaasen
  9. Keshav Maharaj
  10. David Miller
  11. Anrich Nortje
  12. Kagiso Rabada
  13. Ryan Rickelton
  14. Tabraiz Shamsi
  15. Tristan Stubbs
  16. Nandre Burger (travelling reserve)
  17. Lungi Ngidi (travelling reserve)

South Africa have been pooled with Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal in group D.

The Proteas have never won the T20 World Cup. They were losing semi-finalists in 2009 and 2014.

Selecting this group was extremely tough considering the amount of T20 cricket that has been played recently and the form that has been on show. I want to congratulate the two uncapped players, Ryan and Ottniel, on their selection,” said Proteas limited-overs coach Rob Walter.

“We have seen some incredible performances from our players in 2024 and that made my job very tough, indeed. I am nonetheless proud and confident that we have named the strongest possible squad that no doubt has every chance of success in the West Indies and USA.”

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Bjorn Fortuin cricket

Bjorn Fortuin (left) and Aiden Markram (right).

Proteas pick Kruger and Peter for T20I series in West Indies

Meanwhile, warriors all-rounder Patrick Kruger and Lions leg-spinner Nqaba Peter have been named in South Africa’s squad for May 2024’s T20I series against the West Indies.

The three T20Is in the West Indies will precede the T20 World Cup.

“Our preparations for the T20 World Cup will start with a three-match T20I series against the West Indies. For this tour we will unfortunately be without most of the players who are currently involved in the Indian Premier League,” added Walter.

“But it does provide an opportunity for others, especially those who excelled in the T20 Challenge.

A captain for the group will be finalised closer to the time.”

Proteas’ provisional squad for tour of West Indies

  1. Ottniel Baartman
  2. Matthew Breetzke
  3. Bjorn Fortuin
  4. Reeza Hendricks
  5. Patrick Kruger
  6. Wiaan Mulder
  7. Lungi Ngidi
  8. Nqaba Peter
  9. Ryan Rickelton
  10. Andile Phehlukwayo
  11. Tabraiz Shamsi
  12. Rassie van der Dussen

MORE latest Proteas at T20 World Cup news