Proteas name ‘strongest possible squad’ for Netherlands ODI series

Sisanda MagalaSisanda Magala.

South Africa have named a 15-man squad for this month’s ODI series against the Netherlands.

The squad includes seamer Sisanda Magala and spinner Bjorn Fortuin.

Fast bowlers Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada have been recalled, after being rested for the recent ODI series against the West Indies.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Proteas squad for ODI series v Netherlands

  1. Temba Bavuma (captain)
  2. Quinton de Kock
  3. Bjorn Fortuin
  4. Reeza Hendricks
  5. Marco Jansen
  6. Heinrich Klaasen
  7. Sisanda Magala
  8. Aiden Markram
  9. David Miller
  10. Lungi Ngidi
  11. Anrich Nortje
  12. Wayne Parnell
  13. Kagiso Rabada
  14. Tabraiz Shamsi
  15. Rassie van der Dussen

South Africa and the Netherlands will meet for two ODIs. The first ODI will be played in Benoni on 31 March. The second ODI will be played in Johannesburg on 2 April.

What head coach Rob Walter said

“We have named our strongest possible squad for these games given the importance of these matches in the context of qualifying for the Cricket World Cup,” said Walter.

“We have a job to do and I am confident that with this group of players we can get the job done.”

What director of cricket Enoch Nkwe said

“Cricket South Africa would like to wish Rob and his team well for the series against Netherlands. The second match of the series will be a special occasion as it marks the annual Pink Day,” added Nkwe.

“This is an important day in the CSA calendar as it allows us to raise awareness and funds for an important cause. It’s a game that everyone is looking forward to.”

More latest cricket news