Proteas name Test, ODI, T20I squads for India series – multiple recalls and new caps

Kyle Verreynne cricketKyle Verreynne.

Cricket South Africa have named the Proteas’ Test, ODI and T20I squads for this year’s series against India.

Western Province seamer Nandre Burger has been included in the Test, ODI and T20I squads.

Western Province batsman David Bedingham has been named in the Test squad. The Warriors’ Tristan Stubbs has also been included in the Test squad for the first time.

Western Province all-rounder Mihlali Mpongwana has been selected for the ODI squad. Western Province captain Kyle Verreynne and Lions all-rounder Wiaan Mulder have been recalled to the ODI and Test squads.

Dolphins seamer Ottniel Baartman has been named in the ODI and T20I squads.

Batsman Temba Bavuma and fast bowler Kagiso Rabada have been excluded from the ODI and T20I squads.

“Bavuma and Rabada are among a group of players that have been omitted for the white-ball leg of the tour in order to play red-ball cricket as emphasis is placed on the Test series for which both will return,” read a statement from CSA.

Gerald Coetzee, Marco Jansen and Lungi Ngidi will miss the 3rd T20I and ODI series and will instead, together with Bavuma and Rabada, play in the round of first-class matches for their respective domestic teams from 14 to 17 December in preparation for the Test series.

“T20I captain Aiden Markram will captain the ODI side in Bavuma’s absence.”

Fast bowler Anrich Nortje and all-rounder Wayne Parnell were not considered for selection due to injury.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Proteas’ squads for series against India

Proteas’ T20I squad

  1. Aiden Markram (captain, Titans)
  2. Ottniel Baartman (Dolphins)
  3. Matthew Breetzke (Warriors)
  4. Nandre Burger (Western Province)
  5. Gerald Coetzee (Titans)
  6. Donovan Ferreira (Titans)
  7. Reeza Hendricks (Lions)
  8. Marco Jansen (Warriors)
  9. Heinrich Klaasen (Titans)
  10. Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins)
  11. David Miller (Dolphins)
  12. Lungi Ngidi (Titans)
  13. Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins)
  14. Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans)
  15. Tristan Stubbs (Warriors)
  16. Lizaad Williams (Titans)

Proteas’ ODI squad

  1. Aiden Markram (captain, Titans)
  2. Ottniel Baartman (Dolphins)
  3. Nandre Burger (Western Province)
  4. Tony de Zorzi (Western Province)
  5. Reeza Hendricks (Lions)
  6. Heinrich Klaasen (Titans)
  7. Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins)
  8. Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province)
  9. David Miller (Dolphins)
  10. Wiaan Mulder (Lions)
  11. Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins)
  12. Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans)
  13. Rassie van der Dussen (Lions)
  14. Kyle Verreynne (Western Province)
  15. Lizaad Williams (Titans)

Proteas’ Test squad

  1. Temba Bavuma (captain, Lions)
  2. David Bedingham (Western Province)
  3. Nandre Burger (Western Province)
  4. Gerald Coetzee (Titans)
  5. Tony de Zorzi (Western Province)
  6. Dean Elgar (Titans)
  7. Marco Jansen (Warriors)
  8. Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins)
  9. Aiden Markram (Titans)
  10. Wiaan Mulder (Lions)
  11. Lungi Ngidi (Titans)
  12. Keegan Petersen (Boland)
  13. Kagiso Rabada (Lions)
  14. Tristan Stubbs (Warriors)
  15. Kyle Verreynne (Western Province)

What Proteas ODI and T20I coach Rob Walter said

“After an excellent overall showing at the Cricket World Cup, we want to capitalise on that momentum and continue building on our core group,” said Walter.

“We have a busy summer ahead starting with the T20Is and then ODIs against India and we have therefore taken the decision to omit several of our senior players.

“This decision was taken together with coach Shukri as we place emphasis on the red-ball leg of the tour, meaning they will instead be preparing for the Test series by playing domestic cricket.

“In saying that, the move has presented opportunities for others that have been performing well on domestic level to be drafted in.”

What Proteas Test coach Shukri Conrad said

“It is the start of a new World Test Championship cycle and that itself is a huge incentive for everyone. The playing field is level and we want to try and ensure we make a strong start to this sequence here at home against one of the best teams in the world,” said Conrad.

“We have a near full-strength squad to pick from and that in itself is a real boost for us. Overall we believe this group has all the attributes to deliver on our objective, which is to maintain our proud record against India in South Africa.”

South Africa v India series schedule

  • First T20I: 10 December 2023, Durban
  • Second T20I: 12 December 2023, Port Elizabeth
  • Third T20I: 14 December 2023, Johannesburg
  • First ODI: 17 December 2023, Johannesburg
  • Second ODI: 19 December 2023, Port Elizabeth
  • Third ODI: 21 December 2023, Paarl
  • First Test: 26 to 30 December 2023, Centurion
  • Second Test: 3 to 7 January 2024, Cape Town

MORE latest Proteas cricket news