Proteas recall Wayne Parnell and Khaya Zondo

Wayne ParnellFile image: Wayne Parnell.

All-rounder Wayne Parnell has been recalled to South Africa’s ODI squad for late November and early December 2021’s series against the Netherlands.

Parnell last played for the Proteas in October 2017, before pursuing a career in the United Kingdom. He has since returned to South Africa and is contracted by Western Province.

Batsmen Zubayr Hamza and Ryan Rickelton, who are uncapped at ODI level, have also been included in the squad.

Batsman Khaya Zondo, who has not played international cricket since 2018, has also been recalled.

Spinner Keshav Maharaj will lead the team in the absence of ODI captain Temba Bavuma. Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock has also been rested.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

SA ODI squad for series against Netherlands

  1. Keshav Maharaj (captain)
  2. Daryn Dupavillon
  3. Zubayr Hamza
  4. Reeza Hendricks
  5. Sisanda Magala
  6. Janneman Malan
  7. David Miller
  8. Lungi Ngidi
  9. Dwaine Pretorius
  10. Andile Phehlukwayo
  11. Wayne Parnell
  12. Ryan Rickelton
  13. Tabraiz Shamsi
  14. Kyle Verreynne
  15. Lizaad Williams
  16. Khaya Zondo

What CSA convenor of selectors Victor Mpitsang

“The national selection panel and I are excited to give this group of exciting cricketers a good go. These selections are part of our strategy to give opportunities and reward the good work of players in our provincial system,” said Mpitsang.

“We do not take this historic tour of the Netherlands to our shores lightly. We are keen to showcase the talent that South Africa has and to give opportunities to players who have been patient for a long time and are raring to go.

“On behalf of the panel, I would like to wish Keshav, coach, Mark Boucher and the team all of the very best as they look to make inroads into the team’s campaign to qualify for the 2023 World Cup.”

SA v Netherlands schedule

  • First ODI: 26 November 2021, Centurion
  • Second ODI: 28 November 2021, Centurion
  • Third ODI: 1 December 2021, Johannesburg

Also read