Proteas select Matthew Breetzke, recall Ryan Rickelton, exclude Marco Jansen for West Indies Tests

Ryan Rickelton ProteasRyan Rickelton.

The Proteas have announced a 16-man squad for next month’s Test series against the West Indies.

All-rounder Marco Jansen has been rested for the two-Test series, while batsmen Matthew Breetzke and Ryan Rickelton have been included.

Seamer Dane Paterson and spinner Dane Piedt have also been selected.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

“We are looking forward to returning to Test cricket after a busy period of limited-overs cricket over the past few months,” said Proteas Test coach Shukri Conrad.

“This tour is extremely important for us as we aim to improve our standing in the ICC World Test Championship. We have therefore selected our strongest possible squad and look forward to strong performances in the Caribbean.

“We have one new face in the squad, Matthew Breetzke, who is selected on the back of an excellent past season.

“The decision to rest Marco Jansen was taken to allow for a conditioning period aimed at ensuring optimal physical and mental wellbeing given the season-long workloads.”

The first Test will be played in Trinidad and Tobago from 7 to 11 August 2024. The second will follow in Guyana from 15 to 19 August.

Proteas squad for Test series in West Indies

  1. Temba Bavuma (captain)
  2. David Bedingham
  3. Matthew Breetzke
  4. Nandre Burger
  5. Gerald Coetzee
  6. Tony de Zorzi
  7. Keshav Maharaj
  8. Aiden Markram
  9. Wiaan Mulder
  10. Lungi Ngidi
  11. Dane Paterson
  12. Dane Piedt
  13. Kagiso Rabada
  14. Tristan Stubbs
  15. Ryan Rickelton
  16. Kyle Verreynne

MORE LATEST SA cricket news