Proteas Women to host New Zealand after touring Pakistan

Proteas Women cricketProteas Women.

The Proteas Women will host New Zealand Women for three ODIs and five T20Is from 24 September to 15 October 2023.

Potchefstroom, Pietermaritzburg and Durban will host the ODIs.

East London and Benoni will host the T20Is.

“The ODI series holds great importance for our team as they compete in the ICC Women’s Championship, aiming to secure crucial points for qualification in the next 50-over World Cup,” said Cricket South Africa chief executive officer Pholetsi Moseki.

“The T20I series aligns with the countdown to the 2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, presenting an excellent opportunity for our team to fine-tune their strategies and build on their previous successes as they prepare for the global tournament.”

Proteas Women v NZ Women series schedule

  • First ODI: 24 September 2023, Potchefstroom
  • Second ODI: 28 September 2023, Pietermaritzburg
  • Third ODI: 1 October 2023, Durban
  • First T20I: 6 October 2023, East London
  • Second T20I: 8 October 2023, East London
  • Third T20I: 10 October 2023, East London
  • Fourth T20I: 14 October 2023, Benoni
  • Fifth T20I: 15 October 2023, Benoni

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

The series against New Zealand will be preceded by a tour of Pakistan, which will comprise three T20Is and three ODIs, from 1 to 14 September 2023.

All the matches will be played in Karachi. This will be the first time the Proteas Women have toured Pakistan.

“We are pleased to announce the Proteas Women’s first-ever tour to Pakistan. This tour not only signifies the strengthening of bilateral relations between our nations but also highlights the ICC’s commitment to globally competitive women’s cricket through the Women’s Future Tours Programme,” added Motseki.

“These six matches will also provide the Proteas Women’s team with an opportunity to further establish themselves among the elite in international cricket. Success during this tour will contribute to a seamless journey towards the upcoming tours and the ICC Women’s T20 and 50-over World Cups, which will take place within the next two years.”

Pakistan Women v Proteas Women series schedule

  • First T20I: 1 September 2023, Karachi
  • Second T20I: 3 September 2023, Karachi
  • Third T20I: 5 September 2023, Karachi
  • First ODI: 8 September 2023, Karachi
  • Second ODI: 11 September 2023, Karachi
  • Third ODI: 14 September 2023, Karachi

More women’s cricket news