Record-breaking Alistair Gray leads Vikings to first Cape Premier League title

File image: Cape Vikings.

The Cape Vikings beat the Hoeri Kwaggo Bulls by seven wickets in Sunday, 28 April 2019’s final at Newlands, to claim the first Cape Premier League title.

Record-breaking Gray

Captain Alistair Gray claimed bowling figures of seven for 14, which included a hat-trick, to limit the Bulls to 98 all out.

Leg-spinner Gray’s haul is the best in the history of the tournament, which includes Johannesburg’s Lenasia Premier League in Johannesburg and Durban’s Dolphins Premier League editions.

Gray’s hat-trick comprised the removal of trio Byron Wyngard, Justin Dill and Mujahid Isaacs. All three were dismissed lbw.

All-rounder Gray later struck 38 from 31 deliveries, during a key partnership with half-centurion Zubayr Hamza, to ensure triumph with seven overs to spare.

Prior to the final

The Vikings topped the six-team log after the round-robin stage, which also featured the Knysna Falcons, Atlantic Pirates, Dromedaris Dragons and District Sixers.

First position afforded the Vikings advancement straight to the final. The Bulls had to contest and win a play-off with the Falcons, who beat the Pirates in Saturday’s decider.

Individual awards

Gray was named Bowler of the Tournament and Player of the Tournament. The Vikings’ Paul Adams won the Coach of the Tournament award – and the Falcons’ Lenert van Wyk took the Batsman of the Tournament accolade. Vikings batsman Tayo Walburgh was named the Young Player of the Tournament.

FIle image: Alistair Gray.