SA Under-19 cut provisional 18 to final 15 for World Cup – who made it, who missed out?

Juan James cricketJuan James.

South Africa Under-19’s squad for next year’s Under-19 World Cup has been announced.

The Titans’ Adam Cannata, Western Province’s Beni Hansen and Easterns’ Juan Steyn were included in the provisional 18-player squad, but not the final 15.

All-rounder Juan James, who has played first-class cricket for Western Province and North West, has been named in the final squad.

The Titans Steve Stolk and Lions’ Kwena Maphaka, who have been contracted by the Pretorial Capitals and Paarl Royals, respectively, for next year’s SA20, have been included in South Africa’s squad for the Under-19 World Cup as well.

“We had initially selected three spinners in the provisional 18-player squad in the anticipation of the sub-continent conditions in Sri Lanka,” said South Africa Under-19 convenor of selectors Patrick Moroney.

“But with the tournament now taking in South Africa and the change in conditions, we have named two specialist spinners and extra cover within our fast bowling group.

Cricket South Afirca director of cricket Enoch Nkwe added: “After months of hard work we are pleased to see such a well-rounded squad that will represent South Africa at the World Cup.

“The quality of this group shows the amount of work that is going on behind the scenes through the CSA pipeline and I have no doubt they will do us proud next year.”

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

South Africa Under-19 squad for Under-19 World Cup

  1. David Teeger (captain, Lions)
  2. Esosa Aihevba (Lions)
  3. Juan James (Western Province)
  4. Martin Khumalo (Easterns)
  5. Kwena Maphaka (Lions)
  6. Dewan Marias (Easterns)
  7. Riley Norton (Boland)
  8. Nqobani Mokoena (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal)
  9. Romashan Pillay (KwaZula-Natal Coastal)
  10. Sipho Potsane (Lions)
  11. Lhuandre Pretorius (Lions)
  12. Richard Seletswane (Lions)
  13. Oliver Whitehead (Western Province)
  14. Steve Stolk (Titans)
  15. Ntando Zuma (KwaZulu-Natal Inland)

SA Under-19 management

  • Malibongwe Maketa (head coach)
  • Blanche Conradie (manager)
  • Thabang Kumalo (fielding coach)
  • Justin Sammons (batting coach)
  • Paul Adams (bowling coach)
  • Curtly Diesel (strength and conditioning coach)
  • Salih Solomon (doctor)
  • Sheenagh Jordaan (physiotherapist)
  • Kyle Southgate (performance analyst)

MORE Under-19 World Cup cricket news