SA20 confirm player auction shortlist, reserve prices – DOWNLOAD full list

Kyle Verreynne cricketKyle Verreynne.

The SA20 have finalised the shortlist of options ahead of 27 September 2023’s player auction.

Australian seamer Kane Richardson and New Zealand all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme are among the shortlisted players from abroad. Wicketkeeper-batsman Kyle Verreynne and batsman Janneman Malan are among the local players available.

DOWNLOAD SA20 player auction shortlist

“In total, 122 overseas players from 14 countries have been shortlisted for the auction,” read a statement from the SA20.

“A crop of South Africa’s domestic talent have put their names forward for the auction, including 13 capped Proteas players.

“Kyle Verreynne and Janneman Malan are among the players who will be looking for new teams after playing for the Joburg Super Kings last season. The reserve base price for all South African domestic players is R175 000.

“The six teams have already retained a number of players after the first year of the competition, with 15 auction picks remaining across the six teams.

SUBSCRIBE to Club Cricket SA’s YouTube channel for live streaming of WPCA club cricket matches

“All squads are required to include 19 players, with a minimum of 10 South African players, a maximum of seven international players, the new rookie South African player, and a wildcard player.

“Durban’s Super Giants have a remaining purse of R1.675 million heading into the auction needing to fill three more slots, while Joburg Super Kings will be in the market for five players with a remaining purse of R6.1 million.

“MI Cape Town have a remaining R5.05 million in their purse, while Paarl Royals boast R8.865 million in search of four players. Pretoria Capitals have a remaining purse of R9.737 million to add a further six players to complete their 19-player squad.

“Sunrisers Eastern Cape have retained the core of their squad which has left them with only three picks and a purse of R1.790 million available at the auction.”

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Sunrisers Eastern Cape are the reigning SA20 champions. They beat the Pretoria Capitals in the inaugural final. The second edition of the SA20 will be played in early 2024.

MORE latest SA20 news