See the 48 players selected for SA Schools, SA Colts and SA Fillies

Liyema WaquLiyema Waqu.

The SA Schools, SA Colts and SA Fillies squads for 2022 have been confirmed.

SA Schools (Boys)

  1. Juan James (Wynberg Boys’ High School, Western Province – captain)
  2. Liam Alder (King Edward VII, Lions)
  3. Jakes Carstens (Hilton College, KwaZulu-Natal Inland)
  4. Nathan Jacobs (New Orleans Secondary, Boland)
  5. Tristan Luus (Hoerskool Waterkloof, Titans)
  6. Kwena Maphaka (St Stithians College, Lions)
  7. Bongile Mfunelwa (Rondebosch Boys’ High School, Western Province)
  8. Jason Muirhead (St Charles’ College, KZN Inland)
  9. Romashan Pillay (Westville Boys’ High School, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal)
  10. Ludwich Schuld (Hoer Volkskool Potchefstroom, North West)
  11. Richard Seletswane (St Stithians College, Lions)
  12. Liyema Waqu (SACS, Western Province)

SA Colts

  1. Thebe Gazide (St Stithians College, Lions – captain)
  2. Leketa Dakalo (St Andrew’s School, Free State)
  3. Christiaan du Toit (Hoerskool Waterkloof, Titans)
  4. Maahir Joseph (Rondebosch Boys’ High School, Western Province)
  5. Ontlametse Kesiamang (Northern Cape High School, Northern Cape)
  6. Christopher King (St John’s College, Lions)
  7. Gerhard Maree (Grey College, Free State)
  8. Johnathan Muller (Grey College, Free State)
  9. Riley Norton (Paul Roos Gimnasium, Boland)
  10. Bonga Shezi (Durban High School, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal)
  11. Khayelihle Sithole (St Benedicts College, Easterns)
  12. Bhamji Suleman (Laudium Hub, Titans)

SA Schools (Girls)

  1. Christelle van der Schyff (Afrikaans Meisies Hoer, Titans)
  2. Tshegofatso Monyela (Potch Gimnasium, North West)
  3. Robyn Kamerman (Jeppe High School for Girls, Lions)
  4. Luyanda Nzuza (New Forest High, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal)
  5. Gizelle Abrahambs (Kylemore Secondary School, Boland)
  6. Magan Fourie (DF Malherbe, Eastern Province)
  7. Kaylee van Rooyen (Jeppe High School for Girls, Lions)
  8. Khanyisile Nkosi (Queens High School, Lions)
  9. Shanel Madurai (Apollo Secondary, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal)
  10. Sinelethu Yaso (Bellville Technical High School, Western Province)
  11. Jordan Cole (Pearson, Eastern Province)
  12. Itumeleng Manyanga (Bochum, Limpopo)

SA Fillies

  1. Megan Meyer (Teneo Learning Academy, Easterns)
  2. Thristan Cronje (Steyn City School, Lions)
  3. Siyahluma Mabombo (Ebenezer, Border)
  4. Lethabo Bidli (Forte High School, Lions)
  5. Amogelang Maphangula (Boitshepo Catholic School, Titans)
  6. Esihle Kawu (Mandlenkosi High, KZN Coastal)
  7. Tiani van den Heuvel (Hoerskool Oosmoot, Titans)
  8. Luna Gana (Molly Blackburn, Eastern Province)
  9. Katlego Setlhodi (Matlosana Secondary School, North West)
  10. Liyema Jubati (Port Rex, Border)
  11. Mariana Breedt (Outaniqua High School, Garden Route Badgers)
  12. Georgia Erasmus (Hentie Celliers , Free State)

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

What Cricket South Africa said

“The national weeks, which take place in December each year, form a huge part of CSA’s development structures,” read a statement from Cricket South Africa.

“The best players from the Under-19 weeks go on to receive national colours in four of the teams, namely, SA Schools (Boys/Girls), SA Colts, and SA Fillies.

“Western Province’s Juan James has been named the South African Schools captain of 2022.

“James is joined by team-mates, Bongile Mfunelwa and Liyema Waqu, in the SA Schools side.

“Mfunelwa was also named Player of the Tournament for his efforts during the week.

“Waqu, Nathan Jacobs (Boland), and Richard Seletswane (Lions) received their second SA Schools caps. The trio also made the side last year.

“Lions’ Kwena Maphaka and Seletswane earned selection, with both youngsters having already represented the SA U-19 side during the CSA T20 Knockout competition.”

What CSA youth and tertiary cricket manager Niels Momberg said

“It has been good to see that our pipeline continues to thrive despite the challenges faced in the last few years,” said Momberg.

“We try our outmost best to keep developing talent in the country and seeing that young talent at the national weeks is always something to look forward to. Congratulations to all the teams on your hard work.”

MORE SA cricket news