Several club stars in SA Rural squad for Future Cup

File image: South African Rural squad.

Malmesbury Cricket Club’s Krisnan Oosthuizen, Robertson Cricket Club’s Warwick Abrahim and Piet Retief Cricket Club’s Zac Elkin have been named in the South African Rural squad for this week’s Cricket South Africa Future Cup in Kimberley.

Elkin represented Green Point Cricket Club in Cape Town on either side of a stint with Piet Retief Cricket Club in Mpumalanga – and was the second-highest run-scorer in the 2018-19 Western Province Cricket Club first division A.

Secunda Cricket Club’s Siyabonga Mahima and Witbank Snipers Cricket Club’s Tsholofelo Phukuile have also been included in the 13-man squad.

The SA Rural team will contest the limited-overs triangular tournament against the South Africa Colts and University Sports South Africa XIs.

‘The Future Cup provides high level of playing exposure to the selected representative teams of the University Sports South Africa, SA Rural and SA Franchise Academy XI through the Future Cup tournament,’ said CSA cricket services ,anager Edward Khoza.

‘The competition is integral to the identification of talent beneath senior provincial cricket for players from different spheres of our cricket pipeline system – rural, universities and provincial academies.’

South African Rural squad: Devan Bester, Neill Jordan, Zac Elkin, Siyabonga Mahima, Krisnan Oosthuizen, Warwick Abrahim, Anda Mbolompo, Gareth Bishop, Thandekile Plank, Armand Pansegrouw, Michael Enslin, Jason Redinger, Tsholofelo Phukuile.