Shadley van Schalkwyk, Andries Gous win 2022 Minor League Cricket Championship with Seattle Thunderbolts

Seattle Thunderbolts.Seattle Thunderbolts.

The Seattle Thunderbolts won the 2022 Minor League Cricket Championship final in the United States of America late last week.

The Thunderbolts beat the Atlanta Fire by 10 runs in the final, which was played in Morrisville, North Carolina.

Former Knights batsman Andrie Gous struck 44 from 48 balls in Seattle’s final total of 157 for five in the allotted 20 overs.

Former Knights all-rounder Shadley van Schalkwyk supported Gous with 27 not out from 14.

Atlanta hit 147 for nine in reply. Former Knights seamer Corne Dry was in the Fire’s XI.

Seattle are the second title winners in the tournament’s brief history. The Silicon Valley Strikers won the inaugural edition in 2021.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

How SA stars fared in 2022 Minor League Cricket (MiLC)

Gous was the 2022 tournament’s third-highest run-scorer. He collected 616 in 17 innings at an average of 44.

Former Warriors batsman David White, who played for the East Bay Blazers, finished in fourth position. He hit 617 in 14 innings for an average of 55. 18.

Van Schalkwyk took 20 wickets in 17 matches. Former Dolphins and Cape Cobras all-rounder, Calvin Savage, who played for the Chicago Tigers, collected 17 wickets in 13 matches.

More Minor League Cricket (MiLC), USA, news