Sisanda Magala named Lions Player of the Season – and wins 3 other awards

File image: Sisanda Magala.

Seamer Sisanda Magala was named Player of the Season, Newcomer of the Season, T20 Challenge Bowler of the Season and 4-Day Series Bowler of the Season at the annual Lions awards on Thursday.

Magala was nominated for the 4-Day Series bowler of the Season, but left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks won.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. Comments disabled. No spam.

This was Magala’s first season at the Lions. He had previously played for the Warriors.

The talented right-armer debuted for the Proteas earlier this month and has collected four T20I caps.

Batsman Dominic Hendricks and wicketkeeper-batsman Ryan Rickelton won three awards each.

“Our players, technical team and staff have worked tirelessly throughout undoubtedly the toughest year of our lives, as we’ve navigated through and adapted to the coronavirus pandemic,” said Loins chief executive officer Jono Leaf-Wright.

“Tonight was a rare occasion of late – a celebration of goals achieved, lessons learnt, growth gained and friendships made. Congratulations to our winners you deserve the recognition and may all of our players rejoice, reflect and we’ll regroup again ahead the 2021-22 season.”

Full list of winners

4-Day Series

  • Batsman: Ryan Rickelton
  • Bowler: Beuran Hendricks
  • Fielder: Ryan Rickelton

One-Day Cup

  • Batsman: Dominic Hendricks
  • Bowler: Sisanda Magala
  • Fielder: Dominic Hendricks

T20 Challenge

  • Batsman: Reeza Hendricks
  • Bowler: Sisanda Magala
  • Fielder: Bjorn Fortuin

Newcomer of the Season

  • Sisanda Magala

Most Improved Player of the Season

  • Wiaan Mulder

Player of the Season

  • Sisanda Magala

Fittest Player of the Season

  • Ryan Rickelton

Players’ Player of the Season

  • Dominic Hendricks

South Africa’s domestic cricket will revert to provincial competition later this year. The Lions and five other franchises – Cape Cobras, Dolphins, Titans, Warriors and Knights – will dissolve. The first division will comprise eight provinces. The second tier will include seven provinces.

“We’re extremely excited of what’s to come in terms of the new domestic structure and our union being awarded the division one status in the top eight for the next two seasons,” added Lions president Anne Vilas.

“But it, too, comes with a heavy heart and fond farewell to the franchise period as well as our partnership with North West.”

Also read